Real Friends sign to Pure Noise Records; debut two new singles

Photo by: Danielle Parsons

Illinois’ Real Friends have announced that they have signed a record deal with Pure Noise Records. News of the signing comes with the release of two new singles: “Nervous Wreck” and “Storyteller.” The tracks are the first to feature new singer Cody Muraro. Bassist Kyle Fasel shares:

‘Nervous Wreck’ was inspired by the isolation I’ve experienced over the last year. Before COVID hit, I was making strides to get out of my introverted ways. All of those strides were quickly erased when the world flipped upside down. I’ve often been so introverted that some people take it the wrong way, like I’m mean or something. When in reality, I’ve just developed some social anxiety as I get older. The lyrics of the song point to me being out of my own skin when around other people, and even feeling out of place when I’m by myself. There’s not really a resolution to the song. It’s very much about being in the midst of all those complicated feelings. Having a new singer in the mix can be a hard challenge to overcome, but Nervous Wreck still fully embodies the spirit of Real Friends. It fits Cody’s voice perfectly. I remember recording it and thinking this is exactly what Real Friends is. This track is very special to me.”

Fans can stream “Storyteller” and watch the music video for “Nervous Wreck” today here and download the songs here: