Anette Olzon announces solo album, Strong; premieres “Parasite” video

Official press release:

Current The Dark Element (and ex-Nightwish) vocalist Anette Olzon is set to release her new solo album, Strong via Frontiers Music Srl on September 10, 2021. Today, fans can get their first listen to new music with the release of the single and video for the track “Parasite”. Watch the video here:

Pre-order/save Strong on CD/LP/Digital HERE. Anette Olzon says of the album’s first single:

‘Parasite’ is a song about those who create disaster in this world with their lies, their schemes, their greed and hate. Hiding their intentions behind a respectable facade.

Living in a world of a bit of chaos with a pandemic, crazy politics, violence, social media behavior and people venting their opinions upon others all the time is the foundation behind the idea of the lyrics for the album. Musically, I wanted a much heavier album, yet with strong melodies and took my inspiration from bands I like such as Dimmu Borgir and In Flames.”

This will be Anette‘s second solo album, following 2014’s Shine, and offers a harder, faster musical offering compared to the debut. More importantly, Strong stakes a claim for Anette’s well-deserved standing as one of the world’s top female metal vocalists.

The music for Strong was written and composed together with acclaimed Swedish guitarist and producer Magnus Karlsson. Together, Anette and Magnus managed to create an outstanding collection of songs which showcase Anette’s enormous vocal range alongside Karlsson’s incendiary riffs. The songs are heavy, but still quite melodic and contemporary in their approach to the genre style. Additionally, Strong is mixed by Jacob Hansen (Pretty Maids, Volbeat, The Dark Element, etc.).

All in all, Strong is an album that masters the borders between heaviness and hookiness, all while showing an artist who doesn’t rest on her laurels, but heads boldly into the future.

Strong track listing:

  1. “Bye Bye Bye”
  2. “Sick Of You”
  3. “I Need To Stay”
  4. “Strong”
  5. “Parasite”
  6. “Sad Lullaby”
  7. “Fantastic Fanatic”
  8. “Who Can Save Them”
  9. “Catcher Of My Dreams”
  10. “Hear Them Roar”
  11. “Roll The Dice”