Abhorrence premiere new track “Anthem For The Anthropocene”

Photo by: Terhi Ylimäinen

Official press release:

The rumours are true: underground death metal legends Abhorrence are back.

Svart Records is proud to present to you “Anthem For The Anthropocene”, the first track from Megalohydrothalassophobic, an all-new Abhorrence EP, all full of old-school Finnish death metal. The EP will be released by Svart Records on September 15th, and Decibel Magazine premieres the new track. Hear Abhorrence’s “Anthem For The Anthropocene” in its entirety here:

They promised you they were still vulgar and still brutal. And 28 years later, they are. The lineup is the same as back in 1990, with the addition of drummer Waltteri Väyrynen, of Paradise Lost and Vallenfyre fame.

The old Abhorrence sound, reaching from death to doom to black and psychedelia, is all there on the EP. This time, the pioneers of death metal horror have dug their claws into the deep abyss of the ocean. True to their roots of nightmare and terror, Abhorrence brings you a vision of Lovecraftian horror in the age of the ecological catastrophe. The lyrics fuse together the deeply unsettling tales of H.P. Lovecraft with the thought-provoking philosophy of Timothy Morton, arguably the most important thinker of the anthropoce, the current catastrophical age of human existence.

Pre-order info to be announced shortly. Cover and track listing are as follows:

Megalohydrothalassophobic EP track listing:

1. “Intro – The Mesh”
2. “Anthem For The Anthropocene”
3. “The Four Billion Year Dream”
4. “Hyperobject Beneath The Waves”
5. “The End Has Already Happened”