Photo by: Tara Romeo

Official press release:

New York City’s dynamic noise duo White Suns have existed since 2006 and have released three full-length albums – Waking In The Reservoir (UgExplode, 2011), Sinews (Load, 2012) and Totem (The Flenser, 2014) – along with a handful of small-run releases. Their material has received accolades from The New Yorker, SPIN, Pitchfork, and Tiny Mix Tapes among others, and they’ve extensively toured the U.S. and garnered a reputation as a threatening and intense live act. This summer, White Suns will release their challenging fourth album, Psychic Drift, via label partner The Flenser, and today, they’ve premiered the album’s first single “A Year Without Summer” on TinyMixTapes.

Following the deconstructed rock instrumentation of 2014’s Totem, White SunsDana Matthiessen and Kevin Barry continue their inexorable plunge into sonic abstraction. Psychic Drift consists of four long-form compositions where synthesizers, field recordings, cut-up samples and lurching rhythms form a tapestry of shifting layers. The focus here is on texture and atmosphere, utilizing repurposed aspects of drone, industrial and harsh noise to create claustrophobic soundscapes that ripple and groan. Look for Psychic Drift to be released June 16th and stay tuned for more songs to premiere soon.

Pre-order Psychic Drift now via The Flenser here.

Psychic Drift track listing:

1. “Korea”
2. “Pilgrim”
3. “A Year Without Summer”
4. “Medicine Walk”

Cover art by Robert Beatty