Vitamin X stream new track “Modern Man”, detail new album Age Of Paranoia

Photo by: Klaus Naber

Official press release:

Long-running Amsterdam hardcore punk outfit Vitamin X has issued the first single from their upcoming sixth LP, Age Of Paranoia, the band’s first release for Southern Lord. The album-opening “Modern Man” has been unleashed through a premiere at No Echo alongside a brief interrogation of the band.

The newest chapter in the Vitamin X lineage, Age Of Paranoia, was recorded by Igor Wouters at ARC Studios in Amsterdam. Packing sixteen volatile tracks into a white-knuckled twenty-eight minutes, Age Of Paranoia surges with rapid-fire punk angst packed with ripping rock leads and raised-fist gang-chant anthems. The album includes several special guest guitar solos by J. Mascis (Dinosaur Jr., Witch) and Bubba Dupree (Void, Soundgarden, Dave Grohl’s Probot, Brant Bjork), and is completed with cover artwork by Marald (Baroness, Kylesa, High On Fire).

No Echo is streaming the lead track to Age Of Paranoia, “Modern Man”, of which the band states:

“The lyrics are the starting point of a bigger theme; the age we’re living in, is an age of confusion and paranoia… More than ever, we’re controlled and affected by media, technology, mobile devices, Internet, social networks, governments, politics, climate change, pollution, fake news, etc. ‘Modern Man’ is a sarcastic song in which we wonder if our so-called ‘progress” isn’t actually ‘regress’.”

Age Of Paranoia will be released on LP, CD, and digital formats May 18th through Southern Lord; find pre-orders here and here.

Watch for additional audio and video previews from the album and more to be released over the next several weeks.

Age Of Paranoia track listing:

1. “Modern Man”
2. “Rollercoaster Ride”
3. “Age Of Paranoia”
4. “Human Plague”
5. “No One”
6. “Flip The Switch”
7. “Short Circuit”
8. “Speak No Evil”
9. “Deranged Degenerate”
10. “Revers Midas Touch”
11. “Media Messiah”
12. “Road Warrior”
13. “Bounce Back”
14. “Leave Me Alone”
15. “Rock N Roll Destroyer”
16. “Shock Value”