Oregon extreme progressive outfit VINTERSEA have premiered a new song titled “Befallen”. Guitarist Riley Nix said of the new song:

“While the title track from Illuminated showcases our progressive and melodic side, ‘Befallen’ anchors the back half of the album with desolate atmospherics, cavernous blackened screams, oppressive blast beats, and devastating guitar riffs. Even amid a sea of hopelessness, the song is meant to express resolute will and iron determination in the face of impossible odds.”

The song is the closing number of the group’s upcoming record Illuminated, which is due September 27th through M-Theory Audio. The album was engineered and mixed by Gabe Johnston (Idle Hands) and mastered by Troy Glessner (Devin Townsend, Intervals). The cover art was designed by Ne Obliviscaris vocalist Xenoyr. Pre-orders are available now via the label’s webstore and Bandcamp.

Illuminated track listing:

  1. “Spawn Awakening”
  2. “Old Ones”
  3. “Illuminated”
  4. “Crack of Light”
  5. “Fiery Tongue”
  6. “Befallen”