Photo by: Grant Butler

Official press release:

Atlanta, Georgia-based mathcore group, The Callous Daoboys, will unleash their anticipated Celebrity Therapist full-length on September 2nd via MNRK Heavy together with Modern Static Records.

Comprised of charismatic frontman Carson Pace, possessed like a young Mike Patton, fretboard abusing guitarists Maddie Caffrey and Dan Hodsdon, frantic bassist Jack Buckalew, destructive drummer Sam Williamson, and spirited violinist Amber ChristmanThe Callous Daoboys revive noise rock like they’re summoning the dead. The recklessly free-spirited collective deliver a vibrant combination of mathcore, sasscore, and post-hardcore — a sound that is at once abrasive, chaotic, and classy. Reveling in high-strung extremity their music is dense, impenetrable, and chaotic yet confusingly inviting as each song deliriously swerves across stylistic lines. 

The band Kill Your Stereo called “insane, intricate, and impressive” introduced themselves to the underground with 2019’s Die On Mars. Metal Injection insisted the group’s riotously explosive debut “is gonna make you punch everyone ever in the face” and they meant it in the best way possible. The music on Celebrity Therapist shockingly ups the ante with sadistic precision.

Declares Pace:

Celebrity Therapist speaks to sense for the senseless. Who guards the blind, and who leads? What do we have, if not foresight? Misattribute these lyrics. We’re all following someone’s voice. But listen, the world ended again today. We brought you flowers, and something new.

Pace continues:

We’re excited to share our new home with MNRK Heavy, amongst an incredible roster of artists. This record is the result of our most emotional process to date, and every member threw their life into its creation. We’re grateful to enable that risk with every step.”

Every band claims to combine the most devastating of heavy riffs with the catchiest of melodies, but this crew does precisely that with a wrecking ball of unrestrained frenzy and total mayhem. The Callous Daoboys comes from the school of The Dillinger Escape Plan, Every Time I Die, and The Chariot, with a heightened degree of theatricality as one of the methods to their madness. Think Panic! At The Disco and Fall Out Boy getting slapped around good-naturedly by GlassjawCelebrity Therapist even indulges in a bit of drone and avant-garde post-rock a la Sigur Rós and Radiohead.

Lyrically, contemplation and self-awareness run throughout Celebrity Therapist. The singer notes:

“The whole album is about history repeating itself and how we kind of move in circles. It’s two steps forward and three steps back with a bunch of people in my life. The album is me reflecting on these people but realizing I’m guilty of the same at the end of the record. There are a lot of ‘fuck you’ songs because every heavy band likes writing those. But overall, the lyrics are more introspective and quite loving.”

In advance of the record’s release, The Callous Daoboys unveil a video for “What Is Delicious? Who Swarms?”, now playing via Revolver.

Comments Pace:

“You can’t spot an angel-in-disguise, but you won’t refuse her. You’ve got a quick draw. The dust piles higher by the day/where you avert your eyes.”

View the band’s previously released video for “A Brief Article Regarding Time Loops” below.

Celebrity Therapist will be released on CD, LP, cassette, and digital formats. Find preorders at THIS LOCATION.

The Callous Daoboys will kick off a near month-long US tour with Limbs and Greyhaven this week! The journey will commence on June 3rd in Amityville, New York and run through June 24th in Chicago, Illinois. See all confirmed dates here.

Celebrity Therapist track listing:

  1. “Violent Astrology”
  2. “A Brief Article Regarding Time Loops”
  3. “Beautiful Dude Missile”
  4. “Title Track”
  5. “Field Sobriety Practice”
  6. “The Elephant Man In the Room”
  7. “What Is Delicious? Who Swarms?”
  8. “Star Baby”

%d bloggers like this: