Slugcrust join Prosthetic Records roster; announce new album Ecocide, issue lead single “Echoless”

Photo by: Zakary Thornton

Official press release:

Prosthetic Records have today announced the signing of Slugcrust, a four-piece grind band featuring members of WVRM. Hailing from the vermin saturated remains of upstate South Carolina, Slugcrust will be releasing their debut album – titled Ecocide – on September 9. Alongside the signing and album announcement, the band have shared the lead single, “Echoless”, and it’s accompanying music video today. Pre-order Ecocide here.

Speaking on the album announcement, Slugcrust comment:

“We are incredibly stoked to announce that Slugcrust have signed with Prosthetic Records for the unveiling of our new full length LP, Ecocide, and other future releases in the works. To us, Ecocide represents our rebirth as artists, gnawing our way to the surface of the unforgiving scorched earth that has been our lives these past few years. This record is the firing of a gun before the race, the tumultuous calling card, the scorched earth foundation we only want to build upon in years to come. We sincerely hope you fuckers enjoy it.”

Of Echoless, the band add:

‘Echoless’ is entropy to oblivion from start to finish, both musically and lyrically. It is a defiant chant of personality amid a malevolent and dispersing force, the sound of nothing dying.”

With two ferocious EPs already under their belts, the breakneck speed with which Slugcrust operate gives a fair indicator of their approach. However, their focus isn’t compromised by their accelerated work ethic; if anything the urgency of their message is given further impetus courtesy of their relentless audio violence. Drawing from various literary inspirations the political issues at the heart of Slugcrust’s output is given a darkly poetic twist.

Slugcrust seeks to bring political issues to light in a way that galvanises action and activism. The title derives from the process of destroying environmental structures or ecosystems, either via natural means or – as is more pertinent in the case of this album – deliberate human actions. Depravity is a recurring theme throughout the lyrics; emotional and physical immorality and degeneracy permeates the twelve tracks that make up Ecocide.

The formation of all Slugcrust tracks start with the skeleton of the drums; the meat and muscle of each missive comes from the guitar and bass, with the lyrics and vocals being the skin binding it all together. The album was engineered by guitarist Derick Caperton, before being mixed and mastered by Cody Davidson of Sanguisugabogg. Although primarily embedded in grindcore, Slugcrust also dabbles in crust punk and even doom to bring together their ominous, explosive take on extreme metal. Embracing the rawness of punk with the familiar ferocity of blast beats is the foundation of their work.

Ecocide is an uncompromising calling card from a band eager to unleash.

Ecocide track listing:

  1. “Demise Promise”
  2. “Drag Me to Agony”
  3. “Buzzard Czar”
  4. “No Heirs/Dead Souls”
  5. “Echoless”
  6. “Arachno-Mariticide”
  7. “Petrochemical”
  8. “Scoundrel/Wraith”
  9. “Swamp Mind”
  10. “Juris Domina”
  11. “Ecocide”
  12. “Event Horizon”

Slugcrust is:

Jesse Cole – Vocals 
Derick Caperton – Guitar 
Brett Terrapin – Drums 
Stacey Williams – Bass