Photo by: Wyatt Clough

Official press release:

Silverstein has signed with UNFD. With the signing announcement comes a brand-new song from the band, who will be celebrating 20 years together in 2020. Fans can now listen to “Burn It Down” featuring Caleb Shomo below. The single is available for streaming/digital download here.

Caleb Shomo is the frontman for the Columbus Ohio, hardcore band, Beartooth. While both bands have performed live together a handful of times as Silvertooth, “Burn It Down” is the first recorded music they’ve collaborated on.  

The new song is the first since 2017’s Dead Reflection, the band’s ninth studio album.  On April 12, Silverstein released Redux: The First Ten Years, which featured newly recorded versions of selected songs from their first four studio albums. Silverstein vocalist Shane Told explains:

“The song picks up right where Dead Reflection left off. It has the catchiness and riffiness of that album, but production wise and vocally we took another progressive step in a direction we feel great about.  It hits hard and tells a story but gets you straight to the point.  It’s not messing around – direct and in your face. Once the bridge section music was completed, we could imagine Caleb’s voice working so perfectly over it – so we sent it to him and said ‘do your thing’. He sent it back and I just about fell over when I heard it.” 

Longevity is a rare feat for any band, especially one rooted in a foundation of punk and hardcore. Aggressive music is often fueled by youthful fire, and sustaining a career without completely abandoning that urgent sound is almost impossible for most bands. 

But what’s possible for “most bands” has never been a concern for post – hardcore pioneers Silverstein. Throughout the course of their almost 20-year career, from Ontario basement shows to touring the world and selling over a million records, Silverstein has always managed to be completely comfortable in their own skin while never being afraid to challenge themselves.

Silverstein will be recording their ninth studio album later this year, which will be released in 2020.

Silverstein is:

Shane Told – vocals
Paul Koehler – drums
Billy Hamilton – bass
Paul Marc Rousseau – guitar
Josh Bradford – guitar