Saving Abel welcome back Jared Weeks; announce Shades of Grace – Twenty Year Songs EP

Official press release:

Saving Abel has announced the return of original vocalist Jared Weeks and Shade of Grace – Twenty Year Songs, a new EP that revisits some of the group’s earliest material, out this Friday.

Shade of Grace – Twenty Year Songs, a nod to the band’s original moniker when they first formed back in 2005, revisits the earliest tracks written by co-founders Weeks and guitarist Jason Null. Null explains:

“Our producer Skidd, Jared and myself all started going back to those songs independently of each other. We all felt drawn back to the beginning without even speaking to each other about it initially. So, that’s what we did.”

Prior to the announcement of the departure of Scotty Austin, who replaced Weeks in 2013, Weeks and Null had already entered the studio with producer Skidd Mills for the first time in nearly a decade to reexamine the older tracks. Weeks says:

“You never know how it’s gonna feel. Like, will this be weird? Will we still have that cool thing we had in the beginning? Well, let me just tell you, it’s there. I felt like I was back to that young, excited, not jaded guy. There’s just something about the three of us together that is magic.”

The sessions even produced a new track, further proving that the connection is still there.

Meanwhile, a shift in Saving Abel was taking place, with Austin deciding to take a step back and pursue his own path, just as Weeks and Null are reminiscing about how Saving Abel started. Weeks says:

“It was time. Time to come home.”

Shade of Grace – Twenty Year Songs is a stroll down a nostalgic road where it beautifully showcases how Shade of Grace became Saving Abel and how a small duo from Corinth, MS, could take their big dreams and turn them into big realities.

Pre-save Shade of Grace – Twenty Year Songs at this link.

Saving Abel is currently at work on a fall 2021 “essentials” album featuring three previously unreleased songs and a spring 2022 studio album with Weeks once again fronting the band. Weeks says:

“The sky is the limit for us right now. We already made the mistakes and poor decisions. Now we get to do it our way, with a little more clear headedness and a lot more guitar solos.”

Shade of Grace – Twenty Year Songs track listing:

  1. “Southern Train”
  2. “Wasted Time”
  3. “I Sing a Song”
  4. “By Your Damn Self”
  5. “The Way I’ve Been Loving You”
  6. “Whatever it Takes”