Photo by: Matthew Zinke

Band: Sar Isatum
Song: “Chenoo”
Album: Shurpu
Release Date: November 17th, 2017 (DDL), December 22nd, 2017 (CD)

The band commented:

‘Chenoo’ is the second song of the album, it’s a completely different from the first self titled track on the album, it’s a devastating track from beginning to end, ‘Chenoo’ is about the evil man-eating ice giants of northern Wabanaki legends. A ‘Chenoo’ was once a human being who either became possessed by an evil spirit or committed a terrible crime (especially cannibalism or withholding food from a starving person), causing his heart to turn to ice. In a few legends a human has been successfully rescued from the frozen heart of a ‘Chenoo’, but usually once a person has been transformed into a ‘Chenoo’, their only escape is death.”


  • Bandcamp

    Shurpu track listing:

    1. “Sar Isatum”
    2. “Chenoo”
    3. “Black Gate”
    4. “Gormandizer”
    5. “Celestial Diaspora”
    6. “Vanaspati”
    7. “Halls Of Pestilence”

    [via Decibel]

  • %d bloggers like this: