Photo by: Jørn Veberg

Official press release:

The upcoming album by Norway’s avant-garde metal band, Borknagar, entitled True North, will be released by Century Media Records/Sony Music on September 27th. Following 2016’s acclaimed album Winter Thrice, the new Borknagar effort has once again been mixed and mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios in Sweden.

Borknagar founder and guitarist Øystein G. Brun states:

“This has indeed been a thunderous ride, and we are truly excited to finally start revealing some news about our upcoming album. We have spent almost 2 years writing, recording and producing True North and are extremely proud of what we have achieved this time around. On behalf of the whole band, I can firmly say that we have pushed the limits of our musical exploration, while our musical roots have grown even deeper into the northern ground. This is the most diverse, powerful and grandiose Borknagar album to date! Let there be no doubt!

Yet again, we have been working with Thor Erik Dullum and Marcelo Vasco for the cover and layout design. From the very beginning of the process, we wanted to have a very clear, crisp and organic cover that spearheads the cold and northern essence of the album. So what could be more natural than basing it on our very own Nordic surroundings? Furthermore, we are also very happy to also reveal that we have extended our deal with Century Media Records.


True North track listing:

  1. “Thunderous”
  2. “Up North”
  3. “The Fire That Burns”
  4. “Lights”
  5. “Wild Father’s Heart”
  6. “Mount Rapture”
  7. “Into The White”
  8. “Tidal”
  9. “Voices”

6/22 – Dessel, BE | Graspop Metal Meeting
8/15 – Falun, SE | Sabaton Open Air
12/06 – Madrid, ES | Madrid Is The Dark

Borknagar is:

Øystein G. Brun – Clean and Electric Guitars
Lars A. Nedland – Keys and Vocals
ICS Vortex – Bass and Vocals
Bjørn Dugstad Rønnow – Drums
Jostein Thomassen – Lead Guitars