Photo by: Pablo Vigueras

Official press release:

Tucson, Arizona-based deathgrind outfit Languish returns with Feeding the Flames of Annihilation, the new album that cranks up the intensity, obliterates expectations and provides the perfect soundtrack to accompany watching the world around us seemingly implode.

Languish is a band that has relied on speed to deliver their message in the most caustic and devastating way possible, but conversely, they’ve taken their time to reach the point they’re now at, on the precipice of releasing their third studio album, Feeding the Flames of Annihilation. World events forced a creative go-slow which granted them time to “hyperfocus” on crafting a sonically pernicious eleven-track ode to human beings accelerating their own demise.

Despite the album being swathed in nihilism, the occasional glimmer of optimism pushes through in the form of class solidarity and hopeful resistance. But for the majority of the twenty-five-minute runtime, malevolence and misanthropy reigns, articulated more clearly than ever before by vocalist Sean Mears. Although grindcore continues to make up a good deal of the Languish calling card, a considered leaning towards death metal allows room to enunciate their distaste with more clarity, both literally and metaphorically. The world-weariness felt by its authors is colored with rage, disappointment, and a cycle of hitting rock bottom over and over. Inspired by the socialist anthems of Woody Guthrie, Languish takes swipes at landlords, megacorps, and billionaires, with few escaping their scathing sulfur.

The prolonged writing period enabled the vitriol to permeate the bones of each track as they took shape. Old-school influences from the likes of Morbid Angel and Immolation seeped in to inspire additional flourishes as the songs were fleshed out before they were taken to the studio. An expanded drumming palette allowed Zack Hansen to up his technical ability, tying into the sound of a band that has found confidence in taking their time, evolving along the way. Guitarist, Matthew Mutterperl delivers skin-shredding death metal riffs in abundance, as well as creating the visual accompaniment for Feeding the Flames of Annihilation.

The band self-produced the album at Homewrecker Studios in Tucson with bassist Ryan Bram engineering and mixing, before the album was handed to Brad Boatright at Audiosiege for mastering, the record completed with cover art by Mutterperl.

A four-year absence hasn’t mellowed Languish any; this new album cranks up the intensity, obliterates expectations, and provides the perfect soundtrack to accompany watching the world around us seemingly implode.

In advance of the release of Feeding the Flames of Annihilation, Languish today unleashes “Judas Goat”. Comments Mutterperl:

“A Judas Goat is trained to lead other goats to slaughter while it is spared. The analogy between the way we easily and carelessly spread misinformation in this country and the deadly consequences that ensue is explored in the lyrics.”

Prosthetic Records will release Feeding the Flames of Annihilation on October 7th on CD, limited LP — 700 on Black Ice vinyl (retail only) and 300 on Bloodshot vinyl (mailorder and Bandcamp only), and all digital providers. Find preorder options HERE.

Watch for additional audio previews and more to be issued over the weeks ahead.

Feeding the Flames of Annihilation track listing:

  1. “Manifesto”
  2. “Last Legs”
  3. “Ripped Remains”
  4. “Parasite”
  5. “Poisoned Chalice”
  6. “Judas Goat”
  7. “The Collector”
  8. “Failed State”
  9. “Feeding The Flames”
  10. “Comply Or Die”
  11. “Corporate Dystopia”

Languish is:

Sean Mears – vocals
Zack Hansen – drums/noise
Ryan Bram – bass
Matthew Mutterperl – guitars