Insomnium share video for new single “The Antagonist”

Photo by:

Finnish melodic death metallers Insomnium have debuted a new single and video for their track “The Antagonist”.

The song is set to appear on their newly announced Argent Moon EP, which is due September 17th via Century Media Records. It follows the release of “The Conjurer” and The Reticent”, both of which are also set to appear on the effort. Pre-orders can be found here. Speaking of the EP, frontman Niilo Sevänen states:

“When the Corona outbreak forced us to cancel all the tours and shows, we pretty soon adopted a mindset that we better do something and keep ourselves in motion. We wanted to try how the streaming shows might work. We wanted to see what kind of new music might grow in the darkness and misery of the quarantine. And soon these vibes were channeled into songs that came to be the Argent Moon EP.

We wanted to try something a bit different so all the four songs on this release represent the softer side of Insomnium. The ballads and the mellow tunes. Acoustic guitars and clean vocals. The sorrow and agony that creeps into your heart when the nights grow longer. But fear not, we haven’t changed our style. Next album will be something different again. We used all the ballad ideas here so maybe it will be pure blast beats. We shall see.

The ‘The Antagonist’ video is something new and fresh too, since we worked with director & mastermind Ville Lipiäinen for the first time ever. The result is a bit different kind of Insomnium montage.”

Argent Moon EP will be available in the following vinyl variants:

  • Black vinyl
  • Sky blue vinyl (200 copies available via CMDistro)
  • Silver vinyl (200 copies available at the official band store)
  • Ultra clear vinyl (500 copies available at the official band store)

Argent Moon EP track listing:

  1. “The Conjurer”
  2. “The Reticent”
  3. “The Antagonist”
  4. “The Wanderer”

Tour dates:

11/26 Leipzig, DE – Hellraiser
11/27 Salzburg, AT – Rockhouse
11/28 Wien, AT – WUK
11/30 Köln, DE – Essigfabrik
12/01 Utrecht, NL – Tivoli
12/02 Nijmegen, NL – Dornrosje
12/03 Paris, FR – La Machine
12/04 Grenoble, FR – Ilyade
12/05 Straßbourg, FR – La Laiterie
12/06 Nürnberg, DE – Hirsch
12/07 Prag, CZ – Futurum
12/08 Berlin, DE – Metropol
12/10 Stockholm, SE – Klubben
12/11 Oslo, NO – Vulkan
12/12 Gothenborg, SE – Pustervik
12/13 Copenhagen, DK – Pumpehuset
12/14 Hamburg, DE – Grünspan
12/15 Aschaffenburg, DE – Colos-Saal
12/16 Munich, DE – Backstage Werk
12/17 Mannheim, DE – MS Connexion
12/18 Pratteln, CH – Z7
12/19 Stuttgart, DE – Wiezemann
12/20 Bremen, DE – Tivoli

Insomnium is:

Markus Hirvonen – drums
Ville Friman – guitars
Niilo Sevänen – vocals/bass
Markus Vanhala – guitars
Jani Liimatainen – guitars/vocals