Photo by: Errick Easterday

Official press release:

Louisville, KY hardcore conquerers, Inclination, have announced their debut album, Unaltered Perspective, due out 21st October via Pure Noise Records. Unaltered Perspective proves exactly why Inclination have been turning so many heads in their relatively short existence. The album features a seemingly endless well of vicious riffs courtesy of guitarists Peter Katter and Isaac Hale (who also plays with heavyweights Knocked Loose), while bassist Caleb Murphy and drummer Christopher Mills provide an earth-shaking foundation. And all the while the band’s towering sound provides the perfect delivery system for vocalist Tyler Short’s roaring voice and pointed lyricism.

To mark the announcement, Inclination have shared a new song, “Epidemic”. The pummeling track follows “Thoughts and Prayers” and “A Decision” which drew attention from the likes of Stereogum, The FADER, Revolver Magazine, BrooklynVegan, and more. Featuring guest vocals from Indecision vocalist Tom Sheehan, “Epidemic” picks up where those songs left off, with the band’s towering, ’90s-influenced hardcore somehow sounding even more cutting than ever before.

Short discussed the new song, saying:

“The message in ‘Epidemic’ stems from the wanton destruction brought on by the pharmaceutical industry in the Unite States. Politicians and policy makers happily look the other way and get rich while the opioid crisis kills tens of thousands of Americans every year. Tom Sheehan from Indecision recorded a part on the track and his unmistakable voice and style really amplify the frustration and desperation conveyed throughout the song.”

And Murphy talked about Unaltered Perspective, adding:

“The lyrical aim of Unaltered Perspective was capture the anguish and sadness wrought by a series of observations and lived experiences. Frustration from being at the mercy of a society. that treats people as a commodity, or the despair of a friend throwing their life away for nothing. The record is about looking at these experiences as an opportunity for self-reflection and growth, and making a conscious decision to not let your past limit your future. It’s about finding the strength to keep fighting. The record draws a lot of influences from 90’s metallic hardcore but also treads into territory that is new to Inclination. We wholeheartedly think it is our absolute best material to date.”

Recorded by Andy Nelson at Bricktop Recording (Foundation, Weekend Nachos, Jesus Piece), Inclination’s crushing debut LP pulls no punches sonically or lyrically. The outspokenly straight edge band have shown themselves to not only be one of the most aggressive bands in modern hardcore, but also one of the most thought-provoking. Throughout Unaltered Perspective Short explores his ethos from both a deeply personal perspective as well as from a more external view, often targeting the systemic rot at the heart of the drug epidemic. The result is an 11 track onslaught that’s as sure to inspire stage dives and introspection alike.

Pre-order Unaltered Perspective today at this location.

Unaltered Perspectives track listing:

  1. “Unaltered Perspective”
  2. “Epidemic”
  3. “Thoughts and Prayers”
  4. “Predetermined”
  5. “Bystander”
  6. “Without A Word”
  7. “Marooned”
  8. “Connections”
  9. “Segue”
  10. “A Decision”
  11. “Commitment To Self”
%d bloggers like this: