Official press-release:

Texas hard rock stalwarts Drowning Pool are proud to officially announce Strike a Nerve, their first new record since 2016. In addition, the band have released “Mind Right”, the first, intense taste of Strike a Nerve and a perfect re-introduction to the band for the 2020s. Their heaviest record to date, Strike a Nerve will be released on CD, 180-gram vinyl and digital on September 30 via T-BOY/UMe and is available for pre-order here.

Drowning Pool vocalist Jasen Moreno says:

“This record is so badass, it’s perfect. It’s the four of us doing what we do to the best of our abilities. The band is tight in every way. We’re firing off on all cylinders. We’re at the top of our game. There are all different ways of saying it, but it all amounts to the same thing – the results are just magic. From the way the record sounds, to the writing of it, to the production, to the look of it – it’s just a perfect Drowning Pool record. None of us could ask for anything more…”

Longtime Drowning Pool guitarist CJ Pierce adds:

Strike a Nerve is the most exciting and intense music from Drowning Pool to date. We’ve stayed true to the core sound people know from us, but we’ve taken everything we do to another level. We’ve been writing music together for over twenty years – half of that with Jasen – and this album is more refined and more true to who we are than anything we’ve done before. Sometimes it’s heavier than we’ve ever been, sometimes it’s lighter, and sometimes we go in a direction that surprises even us – but it’s always just brutally honest, and that comes through in every track.”

Pierce continues about lead single “Mind Right”:

‘Mind Right’ started with the core Drowning Pool sound, then really dug into our southern metal roots. This song was written not long after Vinnie Paul died, as a tribute of sorts to him and Dime and a way for us to to honor the impact Pantera had on our local Dallas scene. It’s probably the heaviest song we’ve recorded, but it’s the perfect way to close Strike A Nerve; like the title of the song says, we all need to get our minds right. We need to see what’s going on around us, stand up for what we believe in, and always focus on the bigger picture. We can’t wait to play this one live!”

Drowning Pool have long been hailed as champions of blue-collar hard rock and metal, not just because of their consistently incendiary live shows and vastly impressive catalog, but because of the trials and tribulations that have marked their career. They aren’t unique in that regard. What they are is resilient, their everyman, working-class ethos and stubborn perseverance creating a bond few bands ever realize.

Strike a Nerve was inspired by wearing life’s battle scars on our sleeves. Those bumps and bruises got magnified during the worldwide COVID lockdowns; lockdowns that started mere months after Drowning Pool completed recording, mixing and mastering Strike a Nerve, an 11-song tour-de-force through the torn and battered psyche of a band. Written and recorded before the pandemic that halted the world in its tracks for more than two years, Strike a Nerve became more poignant with its time on the shelf.

Strike a Nerve track listing:

  1. “Doing Time in Hell”
  2. “Hate Against Hate”
  3. “Stay and Bleed”
  4. “Strike a Nerve”
  5. “Racing to a Red Light”
  6. “Choke”
  7. “Everything but You”
  8. “Down in the Dirt”
  9. “Rope”
  10. “A Devil More Damned”
  11. “Mind Right”

Tour dates:

9/17 Orlando, FL – Central Florida Metal Fest
9/16 Memphis, TN – Lafayette’s Music Room
9/28 Warrendale, PA – Jergels
9/29 Angola, IN – The Eclectic Room
9/30 Flint, MI – The Machine Shop
10/01 Beaver Dam, WI – Stormy’s Music Venue
10/02 Joliet, IL – The Forge
10/04 Lakewood, OH – The Winchester Music tavern
10/05 Harrison, OH – The Blue Note
10/07 Fredericksburg, VA – Hard Times Four Mile Fork
10/08 State College, PA – Stage West Penn State
10/09 Clifton, NJ – Dingbatz
10/11 Knoxville, TN – The Concourse
10/12 Huntsville, AL – Shagnasty’s
10/14 Katy, TX – The Wildcatter Saloon

Drowning Pool is:

Jasen Moreno – Vocals
CJ Pierce – Guitar
Stevie Benton – Bass
Mike Luce – Drums