Debt Neglector to release The Kids Are Pissed EP via SmartPunk Records; debut “Go Fund Me” video

Photo by: Michael Eliassen

Official press release:

Orlando’s punk rock unit, Debt Neglector are proud to announce their forthcoming EP The Kids are Pissed due out October 26th via Smartpunk Records. The EP follows their tumultuous LP release, Atomicland (Smartpunk Records) which showcased their ability to blend melody and aggression with songs that featured catchy hooks and depressing/cynical lyrics about the death of the American Dream. The Kids Are Pissed EP, mixed, engineered, and mastered by Andy Karpovck at ABKA Studios is more dynamic than their previous effort, with bigger hooks and lyrics that are even more pissed off than before. The six new songs tackle subjects like the current rise of the Alt-Right (punch them all in the face!), America’s inhuman immigration situation (stop using “they’re taking our jobs!” as a mask for your shitty racism!) and gun reform (we need way less fucking guns!) while showcasing the bands ability to toe the line between angry and catchy. If The Kids Are Pissed had an overarching theme, it would be outrage. Outrage with the systems in place that discriminate against people without power and try to keep them powerless. Outrage against the abuses of our government and their sickening allegiance to lobbyists over their constituents. And outrage against the people trying to deny our country the right to healthcare, safety, and a quality education free from crushing debt.

The band is proud to unleash their music video for the first single off the EP, “Go Fund Yourself”. The band had this to say about the single:

‘Go Fund Yourself’ is one of the more pissed-off sounding songs on the record. We wanted to do something angry and driving, but not necessarily fast. We were shooting for almost an updated take on an early 80s West Coast hardcore vibe. There’s lots of feedback and dissonance, but some melody in there, too. It’s about the despicable state of our country’s healthcare system. Insurance companies are raking in profits while diabetics are dying because they can’t afford insulin. People avoid going to get help when they’re sick because the bills and debt will haunt them and then they end up dead. It’s insane to me that Democrats and Republicans both approve military spending bill after military spending bill as if there’s an endless source of funds, then say, ‘Oh we don’t have the money for universal healthcare’. It’s gross. And then families are forced to crowdfund their kid’s cancer treatment. Or go bankrupt in the process of trying to stay alive. It’s fucking dystopian.”

Last month, they released, “New White Roses” which exclusively premiered with Punktastic. The band had this to say about the single:

‘New White Roses’ is probably the most melodic song on the record, but it’s also kind of melancholy sounding. We were shooting for more of a sappy sounding Descendants vibe and this is what came out. The Descendents are often imitated but very rarely replicated because they’re just all virtuosos at their instruments and brilliant song writers and we’re all not worthy to be in their presence to be honest. But we tried. This one was also my attempt at having something positive to say for once in a Debt Neglector song. Our last record (and most of this one) is very doom and gloom. But hey, the world kinda sucks. The White Roses were this amazing group of students and a teacher that were activists in Germany during World War II. They risked their lives to pass out leaflets and spray graffiti that countered the Nazi regime. They called for opposition to what was happening in Germany and abroad tried to rally people to resist them. I thought they had a fascinating story and thought about people today that I admire that carry on that legacy of resistance. The song turned into a shout out of sorts to bands like Strike Anywhere, Paint It Black, and Anti-Flag that have gone out there and tried to get young people turned on to thinking and acting politically. It’s also a shout-out to journalists like Shaun King that go out there every day to expose injustice and abuse in our country and beyond.”

Pre-orders for The Kids Are Pissed EP are available now via the SmartPunk webstore and iTunes.

The Kids Are Pissed EP track listing:

1. “Scared of U.S.”
2. “Go Fund Yourself”
3. “Wrong Side”
4. “New White Roses”
5. “R.P.F.O.”
6. “The Kids Are Pissed”