Deathsomnia announce new effort You Will Never Find Peace; first single, “Katabasis” feat. Kyle Kimball, streaming

Official press release:

Darkwave up-and-comers Deathsomnia are a UK/EUR-based three-piece who bring forth a sound that emanates from dystopian punk soundscapes enveloped in raw emotion, industrial climactic momentum and live energy. They’ve announced their extraordinary ten-track debut album You Will Never Find Peace, set for release on September 3rd via Isolation Records. The trio — featuring Kadri Sammel (Bedless Bones), Richard Powley (Telepathy) and Bruno Russo — have unveiled the album’s industrial-tinged first single, “Katabasis”, which features contributions from Kyle Kimball (of NOTHING, Night Sins). The track showcases the band’s ability to capture a balance between punk guitar rawness and ethereal synth tones. While the song’s title refers to the loss of voluntary movement, the marching drum pattern and pounding rhythm induce a high energy reaction impossible not to dance to.

Kimball comments:

“When I heard ‘Katabasis’ I knew I wanted to be a part of it. Deadly serious but danceable with straight to the point lyrics. Deathsomnia made me a fan immediately. Here’s to descending…”

The creative synergy between Deathsomnia’s multi-instrumentalist members and their individual punk, hardcore and electronica backgrounds, are the source for You Will Never Find Peace’s unique dystopian punk and industrial sound and genre-bending originality. Their groovy riffs and crashing percussions draw influences from Wipers, Dead Moon, Health and Godflesh, the beguiling vocal melodies are dressed with Depeche Mode and Primal Scream undertones.

You Will Never Find Peace also features notable collaborations from Gabriel Franco (Unto Others, formerly known as Idle Hands), Kyle Kimball (Nothing, Night Sins) and a remix by Selofan. Additionally, Mike Sharp (Uniform) plays drums on the album and Dwid Hellion (Integrity) provided the artwork. The album was mastered by Arthur Rizk (Prurient, Power Trip, Code Orange) and produced by Ben Greenberg (UniformCold Cave, Ceremony); the latter describes Deathsomnia’s blending of subtle industrial elements into guitar driven songs as “cyberpunk and a welcomed break from current popular darkwave aesthetic tropes.”

You Will Never Find Peace is available for pre-order now here. See Deathsomnia on tour this summer and fall with She Past AwayGodflesh and others (dates below) and look for more news and music from Deathsomnia to surface soon.

You Will Never Find Peace track listing:

  1. “Deo Non Fortuna”
  2. “Akinesia”
  3. “Void Oblivion” feat. Gabriel Franco
  4. “Dysphoria”
  5. “Katabasis” feat. Kyle Kimball
  6. “Open My Eyes”
  7. “Self Sabotage”
  8. “One Being//One Flesh”
  9. “Wastelands”
  10. “Self Sabotage” – Apocalypse Version (Remix by Selofan [on CD & Digital only])

Tour dates:

8/18 Gyöngyös, Sástó, HU – Fekete Zaj Festival
9/09 Prague, CZ – Akropoli- *
9/10 Warsaw, PL – Klub Proxima *
9/11 Wrocław, PL – Klub Stary Klaszto- *
10/01 Tallinn, EE – Tallinn Music Week
10/08 Groningen, NL – Vera *
10/09 Utrecht, NL – De Helling *
10/15 Vilnius, LT – Kablys *
10/16 Tallinn, EE – Sveta *
3/11 Magdeburg, DE – Factory *
3/12 Hamburg, DE – Markthalle *
3/13 Rostock, DE – Mau Club *
3/24 Münster, DE – Gleis 22 *
3/25 Lindau, DE – Cub Vaudeville *
3/26 Leipzig, DE – Hellraiser *
6/16 Berlin, DE – Astra *
7/29 Rokycany, CZ – Fluff Festival
10/22 St Petersburg, RU – MOD ^
10/23 Moscow, RU – Aglomerat ^

* = w/ She Past Away
^ = w/ Godflesh