Official press release:

Japanese rockers Crossfaith have today announced their forthcoming studio album Xeno, an album arguably unlike any other album to be released on September 18th in North America via Razor & Tie.

For a taste of what’s to come, check out the title track “Xeno” here:

Xeno has a story of hope, failure, love, betrayal and death woven into its fabric so skillfully it’s impossible to tell where truth ends and fiction begins. It’s both an escape from and examination of reality that reveals more and more truths the further it delves.

Produced by Josh Wilbur (Avenged Sevenfold, Lamb Of God, Hatebreed) and mastered by Ted Jensen, Xeno takes the groundwork laid by 2013’s Apocalyze and 2012’s Zion EP as well as the band’s vast touring history and catapults them into a whole new league.

Xeno is an artistic endeavour like few others, with roots in manga, anime and the furthest reaches of its creators’ minds. Frontman Kenta ‘Ken’ Koie, guitarist Kazuki Takemura, bassist Hiroki ‘Hiro’ Ikegawa, keyboardist Terufumi ‘Teru’ Tamano and drummer Tatsuya Amano are, quite simply, operating on a different level.

Ken explains:

“This record is dedicated to everyone because we believe it will make a new phase in this music culture. We had a bad time after we released the last album Apocalyze. Our original guitarist Kazuki had to leave during a tour due to a cerebral hemorrhage, it was the worst thing to happen to us in our entire music career. Fortunately or unfortunately, it just affected his left hand. He is still alive, he never gave up as a musician and he wrote a couple songs for this record as well. It has bound us together as one.”

He continues:

“The experience of working with Josh Wilbur means a lot to us. He brought us fresh feelings and has helped us to create our best record to date. We put everything we’ve got into Xeno and it is the most important and precious thing to us. We can’t wait to share the experience of Xeno. It is beating, it is alive! We are dedicating this record to everyone!”

Xeno is a character, two to be exact. This is an intricate story of artificial intelligence meets human desperation. The two combine to see the human Xeno, so distraught with the state of the world that he endeavours to bring creation through devastation.

Crossfaith is currently touring North America on the full Vans Warped Tour and will be announcing more tour dates soon. The band will tour the UK later this year as main support to Skindred.

Xeno track listing:

1. “System X”
2. “Xeno”
3. “Raise Your Voice”
4. “Devil’s Party”
5. “Ghost In The Mirror” (feat. Caleb Shomo from Beartooth)
6. “Dystopia”
7. “Wildfire” (feat. BenjiWebbe from Skindred)
8. “Tears Fall”
9. “Paint It Black”
10. “Vanguard”
11. “Calm The Storm”
12. “Astral Heaven”

Crossfaith 2

%d bloggers like this: