Official press release:

Progressive/avant-garde death metal legion, Contrarian – which unites the musical prowess of drummer George Kollias (Nile), guitarists Brian Mason (Sulaco) and Leon Macey (Mithras), vocalist Cody McConnell (Goemagot), and guitarist Jim Tasikas and bassist Ed Paulsen, both from the New York-based progressive metal fusion act Delirium Endeavor – will release their debut full-length this Fall via Willowtip Records.

Titled Polemic, the eight-track offering was captured at Watchmen Studios (USA), Dreaming Studios (UK) and Soundtrap Studios (Greece) with all mixing and mastering done by Macey also at Dreaming Studios. A departure both musically and ideologically from most bands within the genre today, the record is essentially just that – a polemic. A smorgasbord of original and authentic death metal riffs, layered with blistering solos and mind-blowing percussion, Contrarian never sticks to any one thing for too long. Perpetually changing and evolving, the band’s layered sound and technical wizardry is not to be misconstrued as senseless noodling. Instead, the songs on display delve into avant-garde, latter-day, Schuldinerian-style riffage, with atmospheric variations proving a wholly enticing listen to all those willing to take in its eccentricity.

In advance of its release this November, No Clean Singing today is pleased to unveil the first official helping of the record in the form of the visual accompaniment to its title track. Issues the esteemed metal blog:

‘Polemic’ is so much more than a display of technical fireworks. It’s a union of the mystical and the marauding. Somehow, this song that’s instrumentally complex and loaded with rapid tempo changes is also hauntingly atmospheric, with melancholy melodic motifs that have real staying power. It’s also definitely a death metal song. In addition to all the other talents on display, the vocals were provided by Cody McConnell of Goemagot, and his slow, deep growls are massive, while the song also includes an assortment of grim, heavyweight riffs and thundering drums. But what really makes the song so memorable is the band’s success in building a bleak atmosphere at the same time as they’re flashing their technical chops, and in infiltrating the dynamic music with somber, high guitar melodies that prove to be quite memorable. On that score, Leon Macey from the UK’s Mithras turns in some guitar solos that are simply beautiful.”

Sample “Polemic” below via No Clean Singing:

Contrarian Polemic will see release on CD and digitally via Willowtip Records on November 20th, 2015 with preorders and additional track teasers to be unveiled in the coming weeks.

Polemic track listing:

1. “Polemic”
2. “Need For Apathy”
3. “Retrieval”
4. “Foreknowledge”
5. “Predestined”
6. “Libertarian Manifesto”
7. “Diogenes At Delphi”
8. “Nothing Is Everything”

Contrarian 2