Comeback Kid detail new album Outsider; new single “Absolute” (feat. Devin Townsend) streaming

Photo by: Avi Dhillon Photography

Comeback Kid have revealed the details of their forthcoming studio effort, Outsider, due September 8th. It will be the group’s first record through their new label, Nuclear Blast. New Damage/Dine Alone Records is handling distribution in the band’s native Canada. The first single off the record, titled “Absolute” and featuring a guest turn from Devin Townsend, is now streaming and can be heard below. Vocalist Andrew Neufeld said of the signing and new song:

“We are ecstatic to be signing with Nuclear Blast. A label that has been running for 30 years and home to some of hardcore and metal’s most integral acts. Like Comeback Kid, Nuclear Blast is a label that focuses it’s energy globally as they have offices all over the world. That is really exciting for us as a band that prides itself on playing in as many corners of the earth as possible.

Here in Canada we are joining up with long time friends at New Damage/Dine Alone. We have worked closely with them before so we know it will be a great fit and fresh start in our home country.

Our new album is going to be the most diverse and interesting record yet in my opinion. There are a few collaborations and we stepped outside of our box and out of our comfort zone a lot on this one. I’ve worked with Devin Townsend on another project before so to have him sing on ‘Absolute’ was awesome for us.

I was conjuring up his vocal style anyways when laying down the guide vocals before we knew he was on board for the song. When we asked him to be a part of it he was open and willing so we thank him for that. He definitely put his unique stamp on it.

On to the next chapter for Comeback Kid with a new team to help us share our music. We will be starting a new cycle of touring around the world starting this summer. Can’t wait to share what we have been working on.”

Outsider track listing:

1. “Outsider”
2. “Surrender Control”
3. “Absolute”
(feat. Devin Townsend)
4. “Hell Of A Scene”
5. “Somewhere, Somehow”
6. “Consumed The Vision”
7. “I’ll Be That”
8. “Outrage (Fresh Face, Stale Cause)”
9. “Blindspot”
10. “Livid, I’m Prime”
11. “Recover”
12. “Throw That Stone”
13. “Moment In Time”