Bison announce new record You Are Not The Ocean You Are The Patient

Official press release:

Vancouver metal veterans Bison are making a devastating return with their brand-new album, You Are Not The Ocean You Are The Patient.

Set for release in Europe on June 23rd followed by a North American release on July 7th, the crushing new offering follows the band’s 2014-issued 1000 Needles EP and serves as their first full-length to include bassist Shane Clark, former lead guitarist of 3 Inches Of Blood, who joined the band following their Lovelessness full-length (2012, Metal Blade).

Guitarist and vocalist James Farwell relays:

“It was important that the songs fit together to tell a bit of a story, a story of a new life and escaping the city, while still being tethered to it. Life is a constant fight, and though I have taken the fight to a more natural and beautiful place, that struggle persists. This is an album of daily living. It is for everyone.”

Bison’s You Are Not The Ocean You Are The Patient was captured in the band’s hometown with long time friend Jesse Gander at Rain City Recorders. Farwell continues:

“I wanted to also steep myself in music that was not necessarily heavy in the obvious sense, so I was listening to lots of blues while writing the album: Peter Green, Muddy Waters, and Howlin’ Wolf. There was also lots of instrumental rock music playing on my long commutes to Vancouver for work and rehearsals.”

Vocalist Dan And adds:

“The new songs still sound like ‘us,’ whatever that means, but we aren’t concerned with shying away from whatever influences creep up. The older we get and the longer we play together, the less we give a shit about trying to sound like anything in particular.”

Check out Bison’s You Are Not The Ocean You Are The Patient teaser video here:

You Are Not The Ocean You Are The Patient will be available on CD, vinyl and digital formats. For CD pre-orders point your browser to THIS LOCATION. For vinyl, go HERE. For US orders go to THIS LOCATION.

You Are Not The Ocean You Are The Patient track listing:

1. “Until The Earth Is Empty”
2. “Anti War”
3. “Drunkard”
4. “Kenopsia”
5. “Tantrum”
6. “Raiigin”
7. “Water Becomes Fire”

Bison will embark upon a short run of Canadian dates next month with additional live incursions to be announced in the coming weeks.

6/09 – Calgary, AB | The Palomino
6/10 – Saskatoon, SK | The Capitol
6/11 – Winnipeg, MB | The Windsor Hotel
6/12 – Regina, SK | The Exchange
6/13 – Red Deer, AB | The Vat
6/14 – Edmonton, AB | Brixx
6/16 – Vancouver, BC | The Rickshaw