Photo by: Blair Todd

New Jersey rock outfit Armor For Sleep have debuted their first new material in 15 years in the form of a track titled “How Far Apart”. You can check out the song via its music video, directed by Jesse Korman (Hot Water Music, The Juliana Theory), or stream via your preferred service here.

The track is accompanied by news that the group will also be releasing their fourth studio album The Rain Museum on September 9th through Equal Vision Records. You can pre-order and pre-save the effort now at this location. Frontman Ben Jorgensen said of the record:

“We are very excited to share our new album, The Rain Museum with everyone. Back in 2020, at the start of the pandemic and at the start of our collective lockdown, I made it my mission to finish writing a concept album that I had the idea for for many years but was never able to bring to life. The Rain Museum was initially  a short story I wrote many years ago about a post-apocalyptic Earth and a mysterious museum in the middle of the desert. Weaving the story into an album was going to be my quarantine project. Unfortunately, my marriage of nearly eight years and basically my entire life fell apart as I was beginning the writing process. The one thing I had in my life to divert my attention from what I was going through was the creative process of writing that album… so I decided to push through and keep working on the record…but something weird happened. Because I couldn’t ignore what I was going through personally, I wound up writing myself and what I was going through into the story of the album and into the world I had been creating for this concept record. In the end, it’s an album about facing some of the most painful parts of being human and how lost we can get. I just hope it will speak to people going through their own dark times, as my favorite art certainly helped me get through mine.”

The group will return to the stage at the end of the month as they embark on a tour supporting Dashboard Confessional and Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness on the Hello Gone Days Tour. The trek will culminate with an appearance at When We Were Young Fest.

The Rain Museum track listing:

  1. “The Rain Museum”
  2. “How Far Apart”
  3. “See You On The Other Side”
  4. “World Burn Down”
  5. “In This Nightmare Together”
  6. “New Rainbows”
  7. “I’m Not Myself”
  8. “Whatever Who Cares”
  9. “Rather Drown”
  10. “A Teardrop On The Surface Of The Sun”
  11. “Tomorrow Faded Away”
  12. “Spinning Through Time”

Tour dates:

7/31 Minneapolis, MN *
8/01 Davenport, IA – The Village Theatre
8/02 Maryland Heights, MO – St. Louis Music Park *
8/04 Indianapolis, IN – Rock the Ruins *
8/05 Clevland, OH – Agora Theater & Ballroom *
8/06 Cincinnati, OH – The Andrew J Brady Music Center *
8/08 Columbus, OH – Kemba Live! *
8/09 Lafayette, NY – Beak & Skiff Apple Orchards *
8/10 Wallingford, CT – Toyota Oakdale Theatre *
8/12 New York, NY – The Rooftop at Pier 17 *
8/13 Asbury Park, NJ – Stone Pony Summer Stage *
8/14 Philadelphia, PA – Skyline Stage at The Mann *
10/22 Las Vegas, NV – When We Were Young Fest
10/23 Las Vegas, NV – When We Were Young Fest
10/29 Las Vegas, NV – When We Were Young Fest

* = w/ Dashboard Confessional & Andrew McMahon in The Wilderness

%d bloggers like this: