Band: AFI
Song: “Get Dark”
Album: The Missing Man EP
Release Date: December 7th, 2018
Label: Ex Noctem Nacimur

Vocalist Davey Havok commented on the song:

“From the initial performance and recording, it had a driving sense of forward movement and penetrating connection. The song’s themes of deification and deference, self-loathing and vanity, captivation and release, damage and healing, are posed in a subtle invitation to those inherently compelled to accept.”

Guitarist Jade Puget, who produced and mixed the effort, said of it:

“I was aiming for something a little raw for ‘Get Dark’. In fact, I used most of the vocal takes from the very first time Davey sang it, as well as some of my guitar parts from when we were writing it. The song is built on the sparseness and simplicity of the verse drum groove and guitar riff that opens up into this big anthemic chorus.

For the EP, the same idea of a certain rawness was really important to the overall vibe. I feel like it’s easy to turn out a slick, polished set of songs, but to walk that fine line between studio creation and live sound can be difficult. It’s been an intense labor of love and we can’t wait for everyone to hear it.”


  • All options
  • The Missing Man EP track listing:

    1. “Trash Bat”
    2. “Break Angels”
    3. “Back Into The Sun”
    4. “Get Dark”
    5. “The Missing Man”