Zvi details new album Deer Pink

Photo by: Justina Villanueva

Official press release:

Nefarious Industries announces the details for Zvi’s new full-length album, Deer Pink, now confirmed for release in April.

ZVI is the eclectic solo project of NYC-based multi-instrumentalist Ron Varod, known for his roles in Kayo Dot, Sabbath Assembly, Psalm Zero, So Is The Tongue, and others. While previous Zvi material can be interpreted as a minimal experimental drone twist on the traditional singer/songwriter, 2019 ushers in a new era of experimentation with Deer Pink

Fully written by Ron Varod, who contributes vocals, guitars, synths, programming, and electronics, Zvi’s Deer Pink offers six lush tracks delivering a diverse forty-six minutes of avant/experimental tones and movements, the album introducing psychedelic analog synths and warped drum machines while flirting with pop melodies. The LP was engineered, produced, and mixed by Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Earth, Anna Von Hausswolff, Boris) and mastered by Brian Pyle of Ensemble Economique. The record features contributions from Randall Dunn as well as Carl Gene, Toby Driver (Kayo Dot, Secret Chiefs 3, Tartar Lamb, Vaura), and Matthew Keys (A Fucking Elephant, East Of The Wall), and is complemented by the artwork of Paul Cristina and layout by Greg Meisenberg.

See a brief trailer for Deer Pink created by Paul Chenault/Noire Media below:

Nefarious Industries will issue Zvi’s Deer Pink on CD and digital platforms on April 12th. Find pre-orders at the label webshop and Bandcamp.

Watch for track previews, official videos from the album, and more to be issued in the weeks ahead.

Deer Pink track listing:

  1. “Kettle Dreams”
  2. “Dear Pink”
  3. “Follow The Snake”
  4. “Low & Trite”
  5. “The Amputee”
  6. “Handcramps”