Young Culture announce Godspeed EP; title track streaming

Official press release:

Three-piece alternative rock band Young Culture is back and ready for summer with their new feel-good EP, GodspeedGodspeed is set to be released on July 30th via Equal Vision Records. Stream the title track and pre-save the release now here.

On the new single, the band shares:

“When writing this song, it just felt so natural. This idea started from the notes app on our phone, and it’s now the first song you hear on our new EP.”

After spending nearly every Sunday during the pandemic brainstorming and writing together, childhood friends Alex Magnan (vocals), Gabe Pietrafesa (guitar), and Troy Burchett (guitar) were ready to share the found happiness and love that many people are now being able to experience once again.

The band’s debut self-titled LP released in 2020 was an extremely diverse mix of songs, so the guys decided to base the pop-rock sound of this EP off of the style of music their fans enjoyed the most from their previous album. Offering the group some new perspective, Young Culture took a different creative approach and decided on the artwork and the name Godspeed before they dove into the writing process. Gabe reflected:

“We knew what kind of vibe the artwork and name would have, so we polished off these songs with that in mind.”

This approach created a cohesive blend of happy songs that are perfect for summer and a great reminder to practice love wherever you go.

The group recorded this EP in a true DIY fashion. After tracking the songs at an old friend’s studio in Albany, they were then passed onto long-time friends of the band, Derek DiScanio of State Champs and Sam Guaiana, to produce, and Gabe’s brother, Tony Pietrafesa, to engineer. It became clear that the connection between the guys grew even greater during those Sunday sessions when it didn’t take long to polish off this group of fun and loving pop rock tracks. Gabe commented:

“It felt good to be able to see that we can do this on our own and have it come out like this.”

The EP kicks off with a strong title track, “Godspeed,” which focuses on two star-crossed lovers and the importance of continuously exploring life with the one you love.

According to Alex:

“These 5 songs are just a showcase of what we’ve always been about, solidifying who we are and what we do. I want the listeners to feel the different emotions we’re trying to convey with each track. Each song has something special to offer and I want it to be felt to its fullest.”

Young Culture is very eager to kick off this summer with some positivity and love for anyone who will listen.

Godspeed EP track listing:

  1. “Godspeed”
  2. “Hum”
  3. “Shiver”
  4. “Simplemindedness”
  5. “Head High (Swim)”

Young Culture is:

Alex Magnan – vocals
Gabe Pietrafesa – guitar
Troy Burchett – guitar