Photo by: Alex Morgan

Whitechapel have announced that their eighth studio album, titled Kin, will arrive on October 29th via Metal Blade Records. News comes with the debut of a music video for lead single, “Lost Boy”. The clip was directed by Crystal Spotlight. Speaking of the album, frontman Phil Bozeman offered:

“I feel with every album, we learn what worked best on the last one and try to utilize that in our writing. Early in the writing, there was some discussion of the album being like ‘The Valley‘ part II, not literally called that, but in how the songs sound and flow through it. It’s very much a storytelling type record like ‘The Valley‘ was. Musically, we just want to create what we vibe with at the given moment. We write music with how we feel and not what is expected of us, while lyrically the idea of continuing from the story of ‘The Valley‘ was always the goal.”

Guitarist Alex Wade comments:

“It’s still very much a metal album, but there are elements of the record that have more of a rock and open vibe. We really wanted these songs to breathe and have life and to sound bigger than anything we’ve made so far. We have explored more singing on Kin too. It wouldn’t make sense to have the majority of the fanbase enjoy that sound and then shy away from it.”

The group tracked the effort at guitarist Zach Householder’s home studio production overseen by Mark Lewis (DevilDriver, Cannibal Corpse). Mixing was handled by David Castillo (Katatonia, Opeth) at Ghostward Studios. Visit for physical and digital pre-order options.

Kin track listing:

  1. “I Will Find You”
  2. “Lost Boy”
  3. “A Bloodsoaked Symphony”
  4. “Anticure”
  5. “The Ones That Made Us”
  6. “History Is Silent”
  7. “To The Wolves”
  8. “Orphan”
  9. “Without You”
  10. “Without Us”
  11. “Kin”
%d bloggers like this: