Venomous Concept 1

Official press release:

Season of Mist are proud to announce the signing of Venomous Concept. The international grind punk “supergroup” will release its next extreme crustwork via this label.

Regarding their signing, Venomous Concept comment:

“It’s been a long time coming, distractions happen, chaos happens… life happens… But hey, still here – still killing it… still grinding… couldn’t be more happy to be with Michael and Gordon and the Season of Mist people… Couldn’t think of anyone better suited to get our friends and family the attitude adjustment they needed… so I hope you guys check it out… throw a few pints down and smash… we sure did.. be sure to bring your drinking money to the show… Ook!!! likes to drink…”

Venomous Concept were conceived as something like a grind punk supergroup – if that term can even be applied to a bunch of people with clear counter culture preferences. The name was quite obviously chosen as a homage to the legendary Poison Idea.

At the core of Venomous Concept you will find Brutal Truth vocalist Kevin Sharp and Shane Embury, the iconic bass guitarist of Napalm Death. The two musicians had bonded over beer and pizza as well as their mutual love of such punk heroes such as Black Flag, Systematic Death, GBH, Siege, and of course the aforementioned Poison Idea.

The duo soon set about plotting their own assault on the style. Armed with bucket loads of coffee, the pair roped in Danny Herrera of Napalm Death on drums as well as Melvin’s guitarist Buzz Osborne.

A record deal was signed with Mike Patton and Venomous Concept’s first album, Retroactive Abortion (2004) was followed by a a split-CD with Japanese grind band 324 (2006) and another in 2008 with Blöod Düster.

Buzz Osborne eventually went on a hiatus, but he has never left and there is always a chance for his return – schedules permitting. Shane switched to guitar, when long time friend Danny Lilker joined on bass. Next, Venomous Concept brought in John Cooke of Corrupt Moral Altar on second guitar for touring. A second full-length titled Poisoned Apple was also released in 2008.

Finally and after too long of a quiet spell, the band decided that it was time for more pizza and beer (cue the A.O.D. classic). They got together with a bunch of ideas, which they had recorded in demo form here and there, on tour, and in various smelly rehearsal studios…

Venomous Concept recorded a new album during 2014, which sees the band continue in their trademark hardcore punk styles – with the added bonus of compositions by Lilker and Cooke. You will find these fire-starters branching out dynamically in order to perfect their art of grinding rock!

Like a coiled punk rock porcupine OOK is fully charged and ready for attack!!

Look out for Venomous Concept on tour soon…

Venomous Concept lineup:

Kevin Sharp: vocals
Dan Lilker: bass guitar
Danny Herrera: drums
John Cooke: guitar & backing vocals
Shane Embury: guitar & backing vocals