Official press release:

UK band TRONOS are delighted to announce the worldwide release date of their debut album Celestial Mechanics out on April 12th, 2019 with Century Media Records

TRONOS marks a true collision between two unstoppably creative heroes of the metal underground: Shane Embury (Napalm Death, Brujeria) and producer Russ Russell (At The Gates, Dimmu Borgir, Napalm Death). Both are teaming up with drummer Dirk Verbeuren for a rocketing load of dark fractured colossal and apocalyptic Metal. 

The greatest, most enduring music often emerges from a meeting of mercurial minds. Having worked closely for decades, Embury and Russell have long since established an instinctive creative rapport. After deciding upon the core ideals of their new venture, TRONOS’ new album, Celestial Mechanics, came to fruition and sent these two maverick extremists into mind-altering cosmic realms. With firm roots in avant-garde extremity and psychedelic sludge, Celestial Mechanics is a record with spectral grit and ornate disquiet hidden in its dizzying, deftly-assembled layers. Such is the strength of the material on this wildly eccentric slab of heaviness. The group said of signing to Century Media Records:

“We are beyond thrilled that Century Media Records have taken onboard TRONOS. It’s been a labour of love for us over the past few years now and we are excited to see what the reaction will be out there amongst the Metal Fraternity! We hope that you will find something of a reward deep within the labyrinth…”

Celestial Mechanics also features a string of illustrious guest appearances such as,Denis ‘Snake’ Belanger (Voivod/vocals), Erica Nockalls (The Wonder Stuff/vocals & violin) as well as the three legendary bass players, Billy Gould (Faith No More), Troy Sanders and Dan Lilker (Nuclear Assault, S.O.D.). The album also features the Black Sabbath cover version of “Johnny Blade” as final album track, the album was mixed by Jaime Gomez Arellano (Ghost, Solstafir, Paradise Lost, Ulver) as well as Russ Russell.

Listen to TRONOS debut track “Birth Womb” off of Celestial Mechanics here: 

The band said of the track:

“This song talks about sacrifice, betrayal of emotion and the process of feeling temporary defeat. But in experiencing these feelings you realise that you can be a stronger person for the experience, the knowledge that maybe you are not unique and we are all dealing with our personal trials on a day-to-day basis.”

Celestial Mechanics will be available as Standard CD Jewelcase, Black 180gr. LP or as Digital album, and you can be pre-order the album here.

Celestial Mechanics track listing:

  1. “Walk Among The Dead Things”
  2. “Judas Cradle”
  3. “The Ancient Deceit”
  4. “The Past Will Wither and Die”
  5. “A Treaty With Reality”
  6. “Voyeurs Of Nature’s Tragedies”
  7. “Birth Womb”
  8. “Premonition”
  9. “Beyond the Stream of Conciousness”
  10. “Johnny Blade” (Black Sabbath cover)


Shane Embury – Vocals & Guitar
Russ Russell – Vocals, Guitar & Synths
Dirk Verbeuren – Drums

%d bloggers like this: