Thonian Horde to release new record, Downfall, via Grimoire Records in May

Photo by: Shane Gardner

Official press release:

Grimoire Records confirms the May release of Downfall, the third album from Maryland-based Thonian Horde, founded by members of Admiral Browning, Pale Divine, Faith In Jane, Weed Is Weed, and Bailjack. The Downfall cover art, track listing, and pre-orders have been issued.

Thonian Horde formed in 2016 in the backwoods of Boonesboro, Maryland by bassist/vocalist Ron “Fezz” McGinnis (Pale Divine, Admiral Browning), guitarists Darren “Dirty” Waters (Weed Is Weed) and Dan “D-Mize” Mize (Faith In Jane), and drummer Tyler “The Beast” Lee (Weed Is Weed). As a self-described “black & roll” outfit, the band seamlessly blends stoner rock grooves with scathing vocals ripped straight from the frostbitten black metal tundra, but what sets them apart from their peers is the highly acrobatic death metal drum work perforating the mix. Since recording their second album, Inconnu, with Grimoire Records in 2017, the band has spent little idle time in the intervening years. 

Downfall is Thonian Horde’s third album release since 2016, and second proper full-length release with Grimoire Records. Featuring ten new tracks of thrashy, blackened, metallic rock, fans of Immortal, Satyricon, and Dissection, as well as the stoner/doom throngs who frequent the members’ other projects, will all find something to sink their teeth into. Like Inconnu, the tracking for Downfall was done mostly live in the Grimoire Studio with label head Noel Mueller, with minimal overdubbing. The cover art was again provided by Gilbert Miranda for Lingua Mortis Artwork, and the CD layout was finished by Mueller

Downfall will be released via limited edition CD and digital download on May 24th through Grimoire Records. Pre-orders are now live HERE. Audio samples, live performances, and more will be posted over the weeks ahead.

Downfall track listing:

  1. “The Narcissist”
  2. “Cathedral Spire”
  3. “Cold Blooded Hypocrisy”
  4. “Gremalkin”
  5. “Hymn To Lilith”
  6. “Chaos Theory Magick”
  7. “Bring The Pain”
  8. “Brickstorm”
  9. “Pan 131”
  10. “Downfall”

Thonian Horder is:

Ron “Fezz” McGinnis – bass, vocals
Darren “Dirty” Waters – guitars
Dan “D-Mize” Mize – lead guitar
Tyler “The Beast” Lee – drums