The Ocean premiere “Turritopsis Dohrnii” audio stream

Band: The Ocean
Song: “Turritopsis Dohrnii”
Album: In The Twilight, These Rocks Have Teeth
Release Date: September 29th, 2017
Label: Pelagic Records

Guitarist Robin Staps comments:

“This track was recorded as part of the Pelagial session. ‘Turritopsis Dohrnii’ is a jellyfish that lives in the Mediterranean. It is the only immortal species on Earth. Jellyfish are weird creatures. They start their lives as polyps which are basically something closer to a plant than to an animal, something that grows on a rock. These polyps reproduce asexually, by cell division. The result becomes the free-swimming medusa, a jellyfish. Jellies then reproduce sexually, before they die… except this little guy here. Once the adult form of the species have reproduced, they revert back into their juvenile polyp state. They shrink, their tentacles disappear and they sink to the ocean floor to start their unique life cycle all over again… and not just once, but infinitely.

This track begins and ends with the same part, reflecting that eternal cycle. Learning about this tiny creature made me think about how we are desperately striving for physical rejuvenation and intellectual immortality… the other side of the coin is the fact that we barely see any old people these days. In a city like Berlin, everyone is young, healthy and pretty. Elder people get locked away in homes that most of us will never get to see or visit, unless we have family members unfortunate enough to become old.”


  • IndieMerch
  • In The Twilight… track listing:

    1 .pg.lost – “Monolith”
    2. Mono – “Cyclone”
    3. EF – “Delusions Of Grandeur”
    4. Khoma – “Dead Seas”
    5. Wang Wen – “Red Wall And Black Wall”
    6. Cult Of Luna – “Nord”
    7. Tiny Fingers – “The Fall / Eyes Of Gold”
    8. Tangled Thoughts Of Leaving – “The Albanian Sleepover – Part One” (Edit)
    9. Spook The Horses – “Lurch”
    10. The Ocean – “Turritopsis Dohrnii”
    11. The Shaking Sensations – “Raveli”
    12. Takaakira ‘Taka’ Goto – “Muse”
    13. Klone – “The Last Experience”

    …These Rocks Have Teeth track listing:

    1. Abraham – “Dawn”
    2. The Old Wind – “In Fields”
    3. LLNN – “Monolith”
    4. Dioramic – “The Storm”
    5. Earthship – “Serpent Cult”
    6. Klone – “Rocket Smoke”
    7. Hypno5e – “North Shore – The Abstract Line”
    8. Coilguns – “Submarine Warfare Anthem”
    9. Family – “Daddy Wronglegs”
    10. Silver Snakes – “Red Wolf”
    11. Kruger – “The Wild Brunch”
    12. Lo! – “Orca”
    13. Nebra – “Shoulder Of Orion”
    14. Hyenas – “Self-Adjusting”
    15. Implore – “Sentenced”
    16. The Ocean – “Benthic: The Origin Of Our Wishes”
    17. Mono – “The Last Rays”

    [via Revolver]