Photo by: Max Ljungberg

Official press release:

Old-school death meatl band The Lurking Fear, featuring members of At The Gates, Disfear, God Macabre, Skitsystem, Tormented and The Haunted, return with their anxiously awaited sophomore album, Death, Madness, Horror, Decay. The album is set for release worldwide on November 19th via Century Media Records and is available for pre-order starting today, HERE.

The Lurking Fear vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant states:

“With our second album we really wanted to produce a more coherent listening experience. The first one was a blast to put together, and I do love that it is dynamic, but we talked a lot about it and this time around we wanted the record to have more of a unified sound, so to say…We wanted it to sound like a band with their own identity. Therefore the writing sessions were more of a unified effort this time around, and all the writers in the band are part of more songs. The album is still dynamic, as it has both intense, faster ‘rippers’ and a few more heavy moments, but the overall sound is more convincing, to my ears.

I also wanted to evolve the lyrical concept further. Of course, there is still tons of Lovecraft influence throughout the album, but I also tampered with some more current horror writers and philosophers. I guess it is not a coincidence, but this album feels like the ugly stepchild of the new At The Gates album, lyrically. I delved into the ideas conveyed by thinkers like Ligotti and Thacker and added an extra layer of cosmic horror to the already Lovecraftian universe of The Lurking Fear. Still the same basic ideas, but just more developed, and philosophical, I guess you could say.

Also, this time around, we talked more with our producer, Per Stålberg, before, so he and us were on the same page about which kind of album we wanted to make. The new album is more of everything, and we feel that the band finally is reaching its full potential. Enjoy!”

The Lurking Fear have also just dropped the first single, “Cosmic Macabre”, off forthcoming album today. Check out the music video for “Cosmic Macabre”, which was produced by Max Ljungber, here:

Tomas Lindberg Redant adds about the track:

’Cosmic Macabre’ was one of the first tracks to be finalized for the new album. It is an old school Swedish death metal scorcher, but has some more quirky stuff thrown in for good measure. The lyrics deal with what lurks beyond the limits of the human comprehension. We felt it was a good first representation of the album as it contains a lot of the different elements of the record in one song. Let the primal darkness tear you apart!”

Death, Madness, Horror, Decay is the follow up to The Lurking Fear’s acclaimed debut album Out Of The Voiceless Grave (2017) and was recorded at Welfare Studios in Gothenburg, Sweden with Per Stålberg and Kalle Lilja. The album features epic artwork once again conceived by Stefan Thanneur, who worked on The Lurking Fear’s debut album, and also includes a special guest appearance by Chris Reifert (Autopsy, ex-Death) on vocals for the track “Kaleidoscopic Mutations”.

The album’s limited first-pressing Digipak CD edition will come two very special cover versions as bonus tracks: “The Curse”, originally performed by Slaughter and “Seance”, originally performed by Possessed. Death, Madness, Horror, Decay will also be available as LP on 180g black vinyl with a poster.

As the world awakens from the numbest of slumbers, The Lurking Fear are ready to unleash another stark dose of supernatural destruction via the fleshly reality of Death, Madness, Horror, Decay. The void beckons. Resistance is futile…

Death, Madness, Horror, Decay track listing:

  1. “Abyssal Slime”
  2. “Death Reborn”
  3. “Cosmic Macabre”
  4. “Funeral Abyss”
  5. “Death, Madness, Horror, Decay”
  6. “Architects Of Madness”
  7. “In A Thousand Horrors Crowned”
  8. “Kaleidoscopic Mutations” feat. Chris Reifert (Autopsy, ex-Death)
  9. “Ageless Evil”
  10. “One In Flesh”
  11. “Restless Death”
  12. “Leech Of The Aeons”

The Lurking Fear is:

Andreas Axelson – bass/backing vocals
Adrian Erlandsson – drums
Tomas Lindberg Redant – vocals
Fredrik Wallenberg – guitars/backing vocals
Jonas Stålhammar – lead guitars/mellotron/organ/backing vocals