Official press release:

More extreme, more melodic, more exciting and simply larger than life: The Agonist are back! Following their critically acclaimed album Five, released in 2016, the extreme metal juggernaut from Montreal, Canada, has released a first single and announced the first and hotly anticipated details of their brand new record, Orphans, due out September 20th 2019 on Rodeostar Records.

Says vocalist Vicky Psarakis:

“When I heard the first instrumentals for Orphans I was a bit shocked and confused. The music was really dark and heavier than anything we’ve done in previous albums and I wasn’t quite sure how I’d be able to match that emotion. But then you know all it took was writing one full song to get the ball rolling and 2-3 months later everything was done!

With every new album, we love to experiment and dip our toes into new territory, but there’s also a lot of elements here that are reminiscent of the earlier days. You can expect a lot of hard hitting, fast-paced madness and many many blast beats! Vocally, there’s a wide range of styles, some of which I tried out for the first time, and the lyrics are mostly inspired from horror stories and real-life tragedies. Events that I felt a lot of people can relate to.

Orphans is my third album with The Agonist and I can’t wait to show the world what we created!

We’re excited to finally share the first taste with all of you… Get ready for ‘In Vertigo!'”

Listen to opening track and first single “In Vertigo” and watch the video below. Orphans is now available for pre-order at this location.

Orphans track listing:

  1. “In Vertigo”
  2. “As One We Survive”
  3. “The Gift of Silence”
  4. “Blood as My Guide”
  5. “Mr. Cold”
  6. “Dust to Dust”
  7. “A Devil Made Me Do It”
  8. “The Killing I”
  9. “Orphans”
  10. “Burn it All Down”