Photo by: Christian Shepherd

Official press release:

Plumbing the depths of modern death metal with primitive elegance, Succumb have returned with their sophomore release XXI. One of the strongest up-and-coming metal bands in recent years, what sets Succumb apart from their peers is vocalist Cheri Musrasrik; the juxtaposition of death metal riffing and propulsive drums with Musrasrik’s cavernous howl and sophisticated lyrics make a unique listening experience in today’s crowded landscape.

Musrasrik cites authors and poets like Yeats, Genet and Zola as her primary lyrical influences. XXI sees an allegorical look at the elements and their related mythologies. Talks about Lilith, the Orphic poems, ocean and nature deities, Dionysus, Arthurian literature, fly agaric as soma, the cosmic egg, and the Boxer Rebellion.

On XXI, Succumb set out to make an album that feels more immediate & unpredictable, with a more aggressive production and the vocals much more front & center. The group has premiered the album’s discordant first single — “Okeanos” — which is available now via Decibel Magazine and on all streaming platforms.

XXI is titled after The World—final tarot card in the Major Arcana. Its imagery typically features a tetramorph that refers to the four directions or the four elements. Its upright meaning represents completion. Its reversal represents fixity. The album art is Stefan Thanneur’s interpretation of the album’s allegorical treatment of the elements and the alchemical union of opposites.

Recorded with Bay Area luminary Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Bosse-de-Nage, Botanist, Oathbreaker, etc.) — also at the helm for the new album XXI — Succumb released their self-titled debut album in May of 2017 and received praise from publications around the globe. Blocland called it “one of the year’s most intriguing metal listens” and PopMatters named it one of the best metal albums of the year, citing: Musrasrik’s insane delivery makes Succumb one of the strongest metal debuts to come out in 2017.” The 8 new tracks that comprise XXI are sure to continue this arc of praise.

Succumb will release their strong sophomore entry on September 24th via San Francisco-based record label The Flenser. Pre-orders are available here and more music will surface soon from Succumb.

XXI track listing:

  1. “Lilim”
  2. “Maenad”
  3. “Okeanos”
  4. “Smoke”
  5. “Graal”
  6. “Aither”
  7. “Soma”
  8. “8 Trigrams”