Sleep On It announce new album Pride & Disaster, issue video for new single “Under The Moment”

Photo by: Alex Bemis

Official press release:

Sleep On It have announced their new full-length album, Pride & Disasterout September 13th via Equal Vision Records. Fans can watch the music video for the first single, “Under The Moment“, below. Pride & Disaster is now available for pre-order here.

“Under the Moment” was produced by Mike Green (All Time Low, 5 Seconds Of Summer, Set It Off). Speaking to the track, vocalist Zech Pluister said:

“At its core, the song is a cry for help. I spent a lot of the last year struggling with my depression and anxiety, and without even realizing it I had fallen deeper than I really even noticed into those things. Take my hand pull me again’ is a plea to anyone listening. The song also really tells the story of the struggle between the denial of those mental health issues, saying you’re fine, lying to loved ones to cover for yourself; and asking those same people for help from under the crushing weight of each day.”

Pride & Disaster is the follow-up to 2017’s Overexposed, and features additional production by Kyle Black (State Champs, Pierce The Veil, All Time Low). Since the release of Overexposed, the Chicago four-piece has toured with the likes of State Champs, Waterparks, With Confidence, Broadside, and This Wild Life, and made appearances at a number of festivals including Riot Fest, Slam Dunk, and the Vans Warped Tour.

Following Overexposed, Sleep On It was named one of Kerrang!’s ‘Hottest Bands of 2018’, and was featured on the 2018 Warped Tour Compilation album. 

With Pride & Disaster, Sleep On It harnesses the strength and vulnerability of the human spirit. Over the course of ten songs, they makes a case for enjoying life, even when times are tough, and never shying away from your truth.  Pluister says:

“One of the big things we focused on when making this record was not only writing sad songs. Going along with the theme of growth, we wanted to show that there is more to life than just being sad. As hard as life is, there are still good days, and we really wanted that thought to be present in this record. It doesn’t seem fair to us to only portray the hard times.”

The positivity found throughout Pride & Disaster adds a silver lining to an album that is also unafraid to address the problems that many, including the band, face with mental health. Guitarist TJ Horansky says:

“We’re trying to be better every day. And that’s what a lot of our songs are about. We want to be better people. We want to improve ourselves, and we want to help the people around us improve as well.”

Pride & Disaster track listing:

  1. “Racing Towards A Red Light”
  2. “Hold Your Breath”
  3. “Babe Ruth”
  4. “Under The Moment”
  5. “Fix The Dark”
  6. “After Tonight”
  7. “Take Me Back”
  8. “The Cycle Of Always Leaving”
  9. “Logan Square”
  10. “Lost & Found”

Sleep On It is:

Zech Pluister – vocals
TJ Horansky – guitar/vocals
Jake Marquis – guitar/vocals
Luka Fischman – drums