Photo by: Imani Givertz

Official press release:

Metal band, Silent Planet, have unveiled details surrounding their upcoming new album Iridescent out 5th November via UNFD. The album is now available for digital pre-order HERE.

The band also debuts the music video for their new song “Terminal”. Tomorrow, the song will be available for streaming on all music platforms here:

Frontman Garrett Russell says:

‘Terminal’ was another song from this album that was inspired by my stay in a mental hospital. For most of my life I have been a very sober person, and this song is about my experience with mind-altering medications while being in-patient. As I took my meds, I watched the world shift around me, and even my own reflection started to shift. I was met with strange visions and imagery, some of which was congruent with ancient mythology. It was during all of this that I began to wonder if the hopelessness was buried too deep for medications to solve on their own. Maybe, I wondered, this is simply the human condition.

But above all, I hope the listener understands that our albums are meant to be understood as whole pieces, and while this song is certainly coming from my genuine experience with despair, there’s more to the Iridescent story that’s yet to be revealed. Thanks for reading.”

Last month, the band released a brand-new song called “Panopticon”, also taken from the upcoming album and was lauded by publications and fans for its musicianship and lyrical story telling. Vocalist Garrett Russell explains:

‘Panopticon’ paints a dystopian view of the future, one where technological advances have pacified the human spirit and made us apathetic in the face of an increasingly malevolent, post-singularity AI that was developed under the premise of security… ultimately becoming a tyrannical overlord.”

Fans can stream “Panopticon” HERE.

The band has always been revered for their unique fusion of storytelling lyrics and modern metal and have been plotting a new chapter set against a backdrop of bleak cinematic soundscapes.

Iridescent track listing:

  1. “112”
  2. “Translate the Night”
  3. “Trilogy”
  4. “Second Sun”
  5. “Panopticon”
  6. “The Sound Of Sleep”
  7. “Alive, as a Housefire”
  8. “Terminal”
  9. “(liminal);”
  10. “Anhedonia”
  11. “Till We Have Faces”
  12. “Iridescent”
%d bloggers like this: