Shadow Of Intent detail new album Melancholy; debut video for new track “Barren And Breathless Macrocosm” feat. Trevor Strnad (The Black Dahlia Murder)

Shadow Of Intent have announced they will be releasing their third full-length, Melancholy, on August 9th. News of the record arrives with the premiere of the video for second single, “Barren And Breathless Macrocosm”, which features a guest spot by The Black Dahlia Murder’s Trevor Strnad. The clip was directed by Eric DiCarlo. Upon its release, vocalist Ben Duerr commented:

“Today is a day we’ve been looking forward to for so long. After nearly tearing our souls apart for months on end, we are very excited to show you the next track of our upcoming record, MELANCHOLY. What you see is the culmination of 2 long years of hard work, discipline, aggravation and obsession. I believe we have all pushed ourselves above and beyond, being unafraid to attempt things unfamiliar to us, and giving our absolute best performances. Every track is unique, and represents the band in ways you’ve never heard before. This is the record we’ve always aspired to write. This is MELANCHOLY.”

The group wrote Melancholy over two years in their home state of Connecticut in guitarist Chris Wiseman’s home studio. Wiseman then collaborated with Fleshgod Apocalypse keyboardist Francesco Ferrini on the orchestral arrangements on the record. Drum tracking was handled at The Grid Studios by Christian Donaldson (Cryptopsy); he also mixed and mastered the effort. The artwork, seen below, was handled by renowned artist Pär Olofsson (Exodus, Immortal, The Faceless).

Last spring saw the release of the album’s lead single with a stream of “Underneath A Sullen Moon”. Pre-orders of Melancholy are available now at IndieMerch (North America) and Rising Merch (Europe). This fall, Shadow Of Intent will tour North America with Despised IconKublai Khan, and Ingested.

Melancholy track listing:

  1. “Melancholy”
  2. “Gravesinger”
  3. “Barren and Breathless Macrocosm” (feat. Trevor Strnad)
  4. “Underneath a Sullen Moon”
  5. “Oudenophobia”
  6. “Embracing Nocturnal Damnation”
  7. “Dirge of the Void”
  8. “Chthonic Odyssey”
  9. “The Dreaded Mystic Abyss”
  10. “Malediction”