Septicflesh announce new album Modern Primitive; debut first single “Hierophant”

Greek symphonic death metal titans Septicflesh return with their eleventh full-length release this spring. Titled Modern Primitive, the effort is due on May 20th via Nuclear Blast Records. News of the effort arrives with the music video for its first single, “Hierophant”. Speaking of the track, vocalist/bassist Seth Siro Anton comments:

‘Hierophant’ is the result of an experiment with ideas that have been haunting our minds for quite a long time. Eventually they matured, leading us to create one of our darkest compositions ever. It is a rhythmical song with profane heavy riffing, layered with melodies that bring to mind chants from mystical ancient civilizations like the Egyptians.”

Guitarist/orchestrator Christos Antoniou states:

“We found it appropriate to add an imposing ritualistic element to the song. So, from the first second until the end, the orchestration is focused 100% on its grim task, to create an awe-inspiring atmosphere and put the listener at the center of this forbidden ceremony.”

Pre-order Modern Primitive now at this location.

Modern Primitive track listing:

  1. “The Collector”
  2. “Hierophant”
  3. “Self-Eater”
  4. “Neuromancer”
  5. “Coming Storm”
  6. “A Desert Throne”
  7. “Modern Primitives”
  8. “Psychohistory”
  9. “A Dreadful Muse”