Official press release:

After spending over a decade as the singer-guitarist of Coliseum, Ryan Patterson has reemerged under the abbreviated pseudonym R. Pattern and with his bewitching new post-punk outfit Fotocrime. You can stream the title track off Fotocrime’s forthcoming EP Always Hell via Impose Magazine.

Crafted alongside longtime collaborator J. Robbins at Robbins’ Magpie Cage Studio, Pattern’s first release as Fotocrime is a menagerie of trenching riffs and synth-driven melodies, all preaching in a darkness that is both inescapable and spellbinding. “Always Hell” introduces Fotocrime’s sonic tenets at full force— staunch, battle hymn drums, lush keyboards, driving bass, single-note guitar work, and Pattern’s unmistakable drawl.

At his most lyrically malevolent yet, Pattern pooled inspiration for the EP from cloak-and-dagger crime fiction, dark Rockabilly crooners, and Technicolor melodrama. With an arsenal of analog synths, drum machines and his signature guitar sounds, Pattern breathes sinister new life into Cold War paranoia, modern-day malaise and smoky noir.

Always Hell will be released on May 12 – more news coming soon. Pre-orders are now live at and Bandcamp.

Always Hell track listing:

1. “Always Hell”
2. “Plate Glass Eyes”
3. “Tectonic Shift”

Tour dates:

4/28 – Nashville, TN | Hail Dark Aesthetics
4/29 – Athens, GA | 40 Watt Club *
4/30 – Charlotte, NC | The Underground *

* = w/ Russian Circles