Revocation detail new album The Outer Ones, premiere “Of Unworldly Origin”

Massachusetts metallers Revocation have set September 28th as the release date for their upcoming, seventh full-length, The Outer Ones through Metal Blade Records. Vocalist/guitarist Dave Davidson said of the record:

“I knew that I wanted to go in a darker direction, and this is our most death metal album to date. Sometimes when death metal bands go down the prog route they lose some of that edge, but we wanted to keep the aggression at the forefront of what we do while still pushing our boundaries.

The title is my ode to H.P. Lovecraft and the entities of pure cosmic horror that rule that universe he created. Since the new music we were writing was so evil and spacey in sections it seemed to be the right title to fit the overall vibe. But while the lyrical content is largely influenced by such writings, in every allegory there is of course some reflection of the real world, so I enjoy writing in a way that could have one overlaying meaning and then another deeper, symbolic meaning as well.”

A David Brodsky-directed music video for the effort’s opening number, “Of Unworldly Origin”, is also now available and can be found below. Pre-orders of The Outer Ones are available now at Prior to the album’s release, Revocation will embark on a headlining North American tour with support from Exhumed, Rivers Of Nihil, Yautja.

The Outer Ones track listing:

1. “Of Unworldly Origin”
2. “That Which Consumes All Things”
3. “Blood Atonement”
4. “Fathomless Catacombs”
5. “The Outer Ones”
6. “Vanitas”
7. “Ex Nihilo”
8. “Luciferous”
9. “A Starless Darkness”

Revocation is:

David Davidson – Guitars/Vocals
Dan Gargiulo – Guitars/Vocals
Brett Bamberger – Bass/Vocals
Ash Pearson – Drums