Official press release:

Pure Noise Records and Pabst Blue Ribbon have teamed up to present Dead Formats: Volume 1, a 15-track compilation featuring the Pure Noise Records roster sharing their takes on the celebrated punk/emo/ska songs that helped shape the scene. The album was curated as a way for fans to discover new, like minded bands, the same way legendary comps like Atticus’ Dragging The Lake, Punk O Rama, or the Vans Warped Tour Compilations did in the 90’s and 2000’s. It will be released on August 29. 

Today, Seeyouspacecowboy’s cover of Saosin’s “Seven Years” is available to hear below via Vocalist Connie Sgarbossa says:

“When we were asked to be a part of this comp the hardest part was picking a song we could do justice to. We settled on ‘Seven Years’ and it was a ton of fun to cover a song we all love and that is so incredibly influential. We also had the pleasure of getting together with our good friend Cameron Nunez on yet another video.”

“Brain Stew/Jaded” by Four Year Strong“Fell In Love With A Girl” by LURK, “Inside Out” by Hawthorne Heights, “I’m The One” by Seaway, “Someday I Suppose” by Drug Church and “Santeria” by Microwave, can also be found on the compilation and are available for streaming now below, as well. Microwave released a music video directed by Casey Doran for their cover of Sublime’s “Santeria”.

Dead Formats: Volume 1 is now available pre-order on vinyl as well as a limited edition merch collaboration between Pure Noise Records and Pabst Blue Ribbon, which now includes a keychain bottle opener, can be found here.

Nick Reely, VP of marketing, PBR comments:

“We’re so excited about this partnership. There are a lot of shared values between Pure Noise and PBR – independence, grit, being a sort of DIY underdog. We just love their energy, their roster of bands and artists, and feel grateful that they’ve invited us to collaborate on the idea and execution of this comp.”

Dead Formats: Volume 1 track listing:

  1. State Champs – “What’s My Age Again”
  2. Four Year Strong – “Brain Stew/Jaded”
  3. Drug Church – “Someday I Suppose”
  4. Microwave – “Santeria”
  5. Lurk – “Fell In Love With a Girl”
  6. Seeyouspacecowboy – “Seven Years”
  7. Hawthorne Heights – “Inside Out”
  8. Spanish Love Songs – “We’ve Had Enough”
  9. Elder Brother – “The Black Parade”
  10. Rotting Out – “Society”
  11. Chamber – “Davidian”
  12. Seaway – “I’m The One”
  13. Can’t Swim – “Radio”
  14. The Dirty Nil – “Filler”
  15. Red City Radio – “Move Along”