Monolord announce new record No Comfort, stream new track “The Bastard Son”

Photo by: Ester Segarra

Official press release:

Monolord, who have been dubbed “Swedish doom royalty” (Noisey) and praised for their “truly modern sound” (Consequence of Sound), release their Relapse Records’ debut, No Comfort, on Sept. 20.

The album news arrives as the Scandinavian trio share the new song, “The Bastard Son”, from the six-song release:

The band said in a collective statement:

“This one has been the most challenging yet. As always striving for evolvement, but within the Monolord realm and with that inviting another person into that process. We hope you like it.”

No Comfort pre-orders are on-sale now, with several limited-edition vinyl variants, including a exclusive in partnership with Orange Amps, available now. The Orange Amps/Relapse offering is limited to 100 copies and features the actual material used to wrap Orange Amps, with the album itself being pressed on neon orange vinyl. The set also includes an exclusive two-sided Orange Amps inspired t-shirt and guitar pick set. To view this set as well as the CD/2xLP/CS and digital pre-orders that are available, visit this link.

The album was recorded at Let Them Swing Studio outside of their hometown of Gothenburg, Sweden. This release marks the first time the trio have allowed an outside voice to be part of the process, working with Kim Gravander on the recording. Drummer Esben Willems handled mixing. Painter Alexander Fjelnseth created the album cover.

No Comfort track listing:

  1. “The Bastard Son”
  2. “The Last Leaf”
  3. “Larvae”
  4. “Skywards”
  5. “Alone Together Forever Divided”
  6. “No Comfort”