Manipulate 2

Official press release:

The inevitable sound clash of American hardcore and metal has matured tremendously since outfits such as Corrosion Of Conformity and D.R.I. made speed the ultimate goal during the early to mid-1980s. For New York City’s Manipulate, it is not only the stylistic traits of both genres worth blending, but upholding the best aspects of each culture as well.

From the metal side of the equation, the band offers up dark, crunchy, menacing riffs coupled with a complete lack of regard for anyone’s hurt feelings. From the hardcore end: no-holds-barred energy and intensity with a critical socio-political point-of-view only the naive would disregard.

Manipulate’s aptly-titled Becoming Madness EP, set for release via Flatspot Records on February 12th, presents an explicit look at the human condition divided into equal parts anger, cynicism and concern yet labeling Manipulate as “positive hardcore” would be grossly inappropriate. There is very little positivity to be found when those around you are dying as a result of their own actions. Nor is there an ounce of honor amongst those who choose to waste their own time on earth, as well as the time of others. Equally disenchanting are the ones whose disregard for friends and family overpowers that of love and loyalty.

Becoming Madness was tracked during the Summer of 2015 by Jeff “Stress” Davis at Chopshop Studios with vocals recorded by John Grant at Madhouse NYC, mixed by Taylor Young at The Pit Studios, and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege. In advance of its official detonation, today No Clean Singing offers up the EP’s namesake track for public ingestion noting:

“The song’s bleak opening riff, its massive follow-on chugs, and the seething lead guitar that rears its head seem to point in one direction – and then the song erupts in a burst of NYHC brutality. With dynamic pacing and incensed vocals, it’s a potent piece of music. Selfishly, I wish it were longer, but if it were I’d probably feel like busting up the furniture. Fortunately, there are five more tracks where this came from.”

Witness “Manipulate”, courtesy of No Clean Singing below:

Manipulate delivers a pummeling soundscape of furious and precise metallic hardcore outbursts sonically equal to its scathing lyrical observations. Forget trying to figure out how to label it. That’s old news. Manipulate will carry the torch from here.

Becoming Madness will be released in a limited run of 500 seven-inches in two color variations — 350 black and 150 gold/black — and digitally. For physical preorders go to THIS LOCATION. Digital devourers go HERE.

Manipulate lineup:

Iván Murillo – vocals
Ricky Singh – guitar
Paul Delaney – guitar
Jonathan Buske – bass
Paul Klein – drums

Becoming Madness track listing:

1. “Becoming Madness”
2. “Beaten Path”
3. “Sin Upon Sin”
4. “Slip Away”
5. “Time Marches On”
6. “Manipulate”

Manipulate 1