LURK announce debut full-length Around The Sun; premiere new track “Crack A Smile”

Official press release:

Chicago, IL’s most inventive punks, LURK, have announced their debut full-length, Around The Sun. Due out 17th September from Pure Noise RecordsAround The Sun finds LURK coming into a sound that is truly their own. The album is a whirlwind blend of proto-punk eccentricity, new wave swagger, and hardcore ferocity that’s as as unique as it is instantly appealing. Pre-order Around The Sun here.

LURK have also shared the album’s first single “Crack A Smile” an unapologetically hook-heavy rager with a massive chorus that’s guaranteed to brighten your day. It’s LURK‘s freakout vision of a feel-good summer hit that doubles as a perfect introduction to Around The Sun‘s defiant embrace of life’s absurdity.

Made up of vocalist Kevin Kiley, drummer Pedro Unzueta, bassist Dan Durley, and guitarists Alex Rackow and Kevin MaidaLURK was formed out of a desire to tap into the infinite possibilities and unrestrained weirdness of punk rock. Kiley explains:

“We wanted to do something that was sort of Ramones meets Devo meets B52s meets The Cramps. A lot of those older bands could be pretty out-there, and punk can still be out-there if you want it to be.”

Recorded by Andy Nelson (Jesus Piece, Harms Way, Weekend Nachos), Around The Sun blends the band’s influences into something distinctive and refreshingly uninhibited. And LURK’s dedication to breaking the mold is palpable in their sound as well as Kiley’s lyrics. The passing of time is ever-present on the album and Kiley’s snarling hooks are often filled with urgency and the desire to make the most of our short window on the planet. And If Around The Sun is any indication, LURK are going to do just that. 

LURK have upcoming shows in Chicago supporting Knocked Loose, Incendiary, Militarie Gun, and more. Stay tuned for more tour announcements soon.

Around The Sun track listing:

  1. “Chromosome”
  2. “Pressure Points”
  3. “Crack A Smile”
  4. “See-Thru”
  5. “Bermuda”
  6. “Sterilizer”
  7. “Fear//Loathing”
  8. “Top Secret”
  9. “Strut”
  10. “Around The Sun”