Lionize detail new album Panic Attack!; stream new track “Loneliest Whale”

Lionize have announced that they will be releasing their new album Panic Attack! in October of this year through their new label, Electric Reckoning Music. The band produced the effort themselves with co-production provided by J. Robbins and Charlie Stavish (Imagine Dragons, Mars Volta). Joining them once again on drums will be Clutch drummer Jean-Paul Gaster of Clutch. Vocalist Nate Bergman said of collaborating with Gaster:

“We’ve worked with Jean-Paul on many aspects of the band over time – from producing, to touring, to helping us record and pre-produce entire albums. In many instances during an after hours late-night beer session in the studio or simply on a lunch break, HankChris, and myself would find a chance to noodle around and jam with JP. It was always so exciting to play something new with the best rock and roll drummer in the world. When we asked him to record a full album with us and the answer was yes, it was an opportunity I knew would bring the best results the band has ever put forth. He is such a musical force that it’s elevated the songs to a level we’ve never achieved before. I can’t wait for everyone to hear the magic we made together.”

News of Panic Attack! was accompanied by the debut of its first single, “Loneliest Whale”; listen below:

Bergman said of the track:

“The song ‘Loneliest Whale’ is one of my favourite songs we’ve ever written. It was inspired by an article in Science Weekly about a whale that can’t find its pod because it’s sending and receiving frequency is unlike any other whale on Earth. As we were writing the album, we began to understand that everyone feels like this whale. Politically, socially, economically – we all feel like we aren’t being heard. Our signals are crossed and we’re looking for our own pods, our communities. The chorus simply asks ‘Is there anyone out there, just like me?’ So many times, especially as artists, we’ve felt most at home on tour or at a rock n’ roll festival, where we’ve found our community.”

Panic Attack! is available for pre-order now at

Panic Attack! track listing:

  1. “Loneliest Whale”
  2. “Cheap Perfume”
  3. “Panic Attack”
  4. “Andy Kaufman’s Not Dead”
  5. “Giant Spiders Of The Universe”
  6. “Exploding Future Blues”
  7. “Shot Down”
  8. “Pretty Good Trick”
  9. “Break Out”
  10. “Heavy On My Mind”