King Woman announce new album, Celestial Blues; release music video for “Morning Star”

Photo by: Nedda Afsari

King Woman have announced the release of their sophomore effort, Celestial Blues. The record is slated to arrive on July 30th via Relapse Records. The group have also premiered a music video for the first single, “Morning Star”. The clip was directed by Muted Widows. Frontwoman Kris Esfandiari said of the song:

‘Morning Star’ is “basically a song about Lucifer. It’s Lucifer telling their side of the story. I’ve had the idea for that song in my head for a few years, and it was haunting, and I was like, I have to put this song on the record.

In church, we were told that Lucifer was so bad and evil, but I feel like often times the people who are portrayed as bad guys in different stories or the news are not what they’re perceived to be, so I wanted to flip it on its head and make it something interesting.”

The record was engineered by Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Jeff Rosenstock) Pre-orders for Celestial Blues are available now at this location.

Additionally, King Woman have announced a string of performances scheduled. The group will perform at LA’s Lodge Room on July 30th and 31st. Three shows in New York City on October 15th-17th; the venue has yet to be announced. Lastly, three shows at Starline in Oakland, CA from October 29th to the 31st. The Halloween show will be a covers set.

Celestial Blues track listing:

  1. “Celestial Blues”
  2. “Morning Star”
  3. “Boghz”
  4. “Golgotha”
  5. “Coil”
  6. “Entwined”
  7. “Psychic Wound”
  8. “Ruse”
  9. “Paradise Lost”