Illudium share video for new single “Soma Sema”; details new album Ash of the Womb

Photo by: Michelle Nisbet

Official press release:

Illudium are now unveiling the melancholic video meditation on the natural world “Soma Sema” as the first single taken from their forthcoming album Ash of the Womb, which is slated for release on October 15, 2021. The Californian dark dreamgaze act headed by singer and guitarist Shantel Amundson is also revealing cover art, tracklist, and further details of the new full-length below.

Frontwoman Shantel Amundson states:

“Our first single, ‘Soma Sema’ revolves around the idea of freedom from the fetters of the body, the principles of our attachment to Earth, and our subsequent release. The song deals with the turbulence and suffering that we encounter throughout our lives, physically and spiritually. The lyrical concept is representative of the overarching theme of this album, of death within the womb and life within the tomb. Maternal mortality and posthumous birth are topics that are very personal to me, and something that I sought to honor in this song. Yet these themes can also be applied, as is the intention with this album, to our relationship with Earth, our impact on its ecosystems, and the exploitation of the natural world for the progression of human purposes.”

Pre-order Ash of the Womb now at this location.

Ash of the Womb track listing:

  1. “Aster”
  2. “Sempervirens”
  3. “Soma Sema”
  4. “Ä€topa”
  5. “Madrigal”
  6. “Where Death and Dreams Do Manifest”