Photo by: Sean Reel

Official press release:

Grimoire Records presents Crayon Sun, the new full-length from Baltimore, Maryland-based weirdo noise rock trio GLOOP. The album’s ripping title track has been issued alongside its cover art, track listing, pre-orders, and more.

GLOOP was formed in 2016, in a basement in Shepherdstown, West Virginia, uniting vocalist/guitarist Dominic Gianninoto (Rhin), drummer Max Detrich (Big Weird), and bassist Blake Douglas (The Dead Monks). In 2017, GLOOP released their debut album The Tourist through Grimoire Records, who also released their second album, Smiling Lines, in 2019, the latter in collaboration with Buzzhowl Records in the UK.

Through their recordings and shows, GLOOP has continued to evolve their style while having a signature sound—angular, agitated guitars, driving drums, and wry, slightly askew lyrics. This is proven on the band’s incoming third album, Crayon Sun. The album finds the band diving into open tunings and a darker tone than previous albums, cranking out a dozen new songs in just over thirty minutes.

Crayon Sun was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Noel Mueller in the early months of 2021, with additional engineering by Blake Douglas, and the cover artwork handled by Max Detrich. The record will be released worldwide on limited edition cassette and digital download through Grimoire Records on August 20th. Fans of Pixies, Mclusky, Sleaford Mods, US Maple, and Drahla, tune in.

Fire up GLOOP’s “Crayon Sun” now here:

Pre-orders for the record are live at Bandcamp.

GLOOP has shared the stage with The Dreebs, Sediment Club, Uniform, Tunic, Psychic Graveyard, Multicult, and Grizzlor. Watch for new live news to be announced later this year as shows continue to make their return. The prolific band is also already currently in the process of writing more songs for a fourth album.

Crayon Sun track listing:

  1. “I Am”
  2. “Losing Time”
  3. “Old Man Flower”
  4. “Shadows”
  5. “Bugs”
  6. “Walking Sideways”
  7. “Crayon Sun”
  8. “A Wildflower”
  9. “You’re Home”
  10. “Pressure”
  11. “Transfixed”
  12. “A Hole In The Nest”


Dominic Gianninoto – vocals/guitars
Max Detrich – drums
Blake Douglas – bass