Gadget 1

Official press release:

On behalf of Swedish grindcore stalwarts Gadget, Relapse Records is excited to announce that The Great Destroyer, the band’s first full-length in a decade, will see worldwide release this March 4th, 2016.

With the announcement, Noisey has premiered two new tracks from the album; stream “Violent Hours (For A Veiled Awakening)” and the title track “The Great Destroyer” now below:

Though the band has largely flown under the radar in the general metal consciousness, Gavle, Sweden’s Gadget has roots that trace back to 1997. The band has always included influences from every other extreme genre that they’ve been fond of, like doom, sludge, hardcore punk, death metal, black metal and more, never letting genre boundaries stand in the way of their path of destruction. At the time of the band’s formation, Gadget existed as the grinding alter-ego of a metalcore band whose members, including founder William Blackmon, simply switched instruments. Rikard Olsson and William teamed up in the winter of 1999/2000, and wrote the first Gadget demo as a duo. The band then joined forces with Emil Englund to record a second demo, which was strong enough to grab the attention of Relapse Records, who signed the band for the release of their debut full-length Remote (2004), now featuring Fredrik Nygren. Remote was extensively well-received, as was its 2006 follow-up The Funeral March. After touring Europe twice and performing at dozens of festivals worldwide, including at Maryland Deathfest and Auditory Assault in the US, Gadget has proven itself to be a relentless grindcore force live as well as on record.

A blistering high-speed assault of relentless grind, Gadget’s new album The Great Destroyer is a cohesive exercise in extremity that blends hints of doom, sludge and death metal with unadulterated, old-school grindcore. The result is an album that is as memorable and infectious as it is pummeling and explosive. With The Great Destroyer, Gadget has released their most accomplished material to date!

The Great Destroyer will see release on CD, LP and Digital formats. Physical preorders are available now via Relapse HERE; digital pre-orders can be found at Gadget’s Bandcamp page HERE.


William Blackmon – Guitar, Drums, Vocals
Rikard Olsson – Guitar
Emil Englund – Vocals
Fredrik Nygren – Bass

The Great Destroyer track listing:

1. “Enemies Of Reason”
2. “Känslan”
3. “Pillars Of Filth”
4. “Choice Of A Lost Generation”
5. “From Graduation To Devastation”
6. “Dedication”
7. “Violent Hours (For A Veiled Awakening)”
8. “The 02666 Heritage”
9. “The Great Destroyer”
10. “Down And Out”
11. “In The Name Of Suffering”
12. “Lost On A Straight Path”
13. “Forsaken”
14. “Collapse”
15. “Lack Of Humanity”
16. “Svart Hål”
17. “I Don’t Need You – Dead And Gone”

Gadget 2