California industrial metallers Fear Factory have released cover art and track listing for their new album Genexus, which has been scheduled for release on August 8th through Nuclear Blast Entertainment. The artwork was once again handled by artist Anthony Clarkson, who did covers for the band’s most recent efforts, Mechanize and The Industrialist. Drums on the record were tracked by Malignancy’s Mike Heller, except for one track that features Journey drummer Deen Castronovo. Vocalist Burton C. Bell also commented on the album’s title, saying:

“The word genexus is a hybrid of two words; genesis and nexus. This word describes the next transition in human evolution as man moves forward to a ‘mechanical’ state of being. Ray Kurzweil predicts that the singularity will occur around 2045. Genexus is the term for that next evolutionary process. Where humans are machines, machines are human, and the differences are oblivious to the naked eye.

This album is a record of thought patterns, psychology and struggles of the Genexus generation. The cognitive machine has arrived, and it wants autonomy from the industry that created it. This machine struggles, like every other human has throughout the course of history. This is the story of every one of us.”

Genexus track listing:

1. “Autonomous Combat System”
2. “Anodized”
3. “Dielectric”
4. “Soul Hacker”
5. “Protomech”
6. “Genexus”
7. “Church Of Execution”
8. “Regenerate”
9. “Battle For Utopia”
10. “Expiration Date”
11. “Mandatory Sacrifice” (Genexus Remix)
[digipak bonus track]
12. “Enhanced Reality” [digipak bonus track]

Fear Factory 3